We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great views.”
Review of Guesthouse Steig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Steig
Ranked #4 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place with great views.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed there with the whole family. Kids loved the animals around the place and we enjoyed the scenery. Very friendly staff. Rooms are very modern and very clean, with nice bathrooms. Hiked up the hill behind the guesthouse for a great view of the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    88
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
119
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have stayed at several small guesthouses and inns in Iceland and this one had a very professional, almost corporate, feel. The rooms even opened with credit card-like "keys" ! The property was spotlessly clean and my room was a good size. Breakfast served in the morning offered a variety of foods and drink. My only complaint is that the Wifi did not reach my room, and even the woman at check-in acknowledged it as "weak" and "slow". Overall, this was a comfortable place to stay that is very close to Dyrholaey and Reynisfjara, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wow - this was one of our top 2 places we stayed in while visiting Iceland (7 nights stay). Our host was accommodating, kind & sweet. The room was very nice (w/ shared bathroom to save money), the bed VERY comfortable and shared bathroom very clean. The breakfast was the usual fare of bread, cereals, meats and cheese, plus fresh waffles and fruit - plenty to eat! This place is a little outside of Vik, but we wanted the country experience as the guest house is right up against the foot-hills. Very picturesque!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamiTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The rooms are decorated like a lovely comfortable home, not a hotel. The fixtures are new and clean, the service was great, the staff very friendly and welcoming. We were pleasantly surprised to have dinner served since that was not expected and although the menu was limited, the food was quite good. We would definitely recommend this guesthouse to those with a car to reach it, as it is located by itself just off the Ring Road.

Room Tip: Choose a front room for a view of the ocean (in the distance) or a back room for a view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This guesthouse was wonderful. Nice rooms, a big dining room for breakfast and a separate kitchen where you could cook your own food, keep food in a refrigerator, and eat at the table. A comfortable living room was also nice for lounging on the sofa and catching a show on TV. The entire place was remarkably clean--not a spot of dust or dirt anywhere. Very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was great and they even had a cannister of volcanic ashes where you could scoop up a little to take home as a memento. Would recommend this place and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had quite a pleasant stay in this guesthouse a couple of weeks ago. Just like anywhere in Iceland, it was equipped with a good WiFi connection. Due to the limited reception of a modem and a prolonged area of the guesthouse, the owners just made two networks for each of the halves of the guesthouse providing a good WiFi access to all of their guests. Wise and appreciated.
The rooms themselves are quite small, but spotless. Somehow, it reminded me of a room on a cruise ship. The bathrooms are shared, but we had no issues whatsoever with that.
Half of the rooms face the extended view on the mountain, while the other faces the back of a hill. If you arrive early enough, you can probably snatch the room you desire.
The only downside was the soundproofing. You can pretty well hear the people in the room next to you and if you get "lucky" enough, you may get a bunch of inconsiderate individuals who will not keep the noise down until whenever. Though it's a hit and miss. Not everyone is mindful of that.
The hosts were courteous. The breakfast was just about sufficient, can't say anything about it. We got a room with two separate beds (which is pretty common in Iceland), but both were reasonably comfortable.
According to my research done prior to the trip and my experience at the Steig Guesthouse, I would consider it to be a safe and a somewhat of a budget choice for an average traveling folk like myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6shot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A nice alternative to staying in Vik -but only if you have a car. Plenty of room to stretch out in private and common areas. We only stayed here one night but you could easily stay here long term as there's lots of places (inside and out) to lounge around. The location is near many interesting sights and just a few miles west of Vik. The accommodations look fairly new and were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good -plenty of food and coffee to keep you going.

Room Tip: You can get a room facing either the hillside (not much of a view but darker for long summer nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
6.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
9.1 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
503 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
470 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guesthouse Vellir
Guesthouse Vellir
#8 of 14 in Vik
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steig

Property: Guesthouse Steig
Address: Steig, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated on a farm in Steig, 5 km from Dyrholaey Cliffs. It offers a communal kitchen and TV lounge, plus traditional Icelandic food in the restaurant. Guesthouse Steig’s rooms are decorated in light tones. Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathrooms. Some rooms offer views of the Eyjafjalla Glacier and Atlantic Ocean. A free internet computer is found at reception. Outside, children can see sheep, hens and ducks up close. Skogar Museum is 20 km from Steig Guesthouse. Shops, a swimming pool and Vik's black, basalt sand beach are 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Steig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing