We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but the place is somehow coldish”
Review of Guesthouse Steig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Steig
Ranked #4 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location but the place is somehow coldish”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Guesthouse Steig is a farm/guesthouse located a few kilometers outside of Vik (a 10-15 minutes drive)! Its location is very nice, with beautiful landscapes and quite close (5-10 minutes drive) to access the most impressive beaches in this area! Notwithstanding, this guesthouse is a little overpriced and somehow feels cold! The rooms are spacious but too plain! The hotel doesn't offer much more than beds! Breakfast was plain good! I wouldn't recommend staying more than 1 day in this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    91
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
124
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed one night and then liked it so much booked and stayed later on our return journey. It was great value. The staff were very friendly, the room large enough with all mod cons we required, evening meals delicious, self catering kitchen or restaurant dining room at other end of corridor, multiple good quality toys in the communal lounge area, and a fantastic view looking out over the plain towards the sea and a large rock outcrop.
We paid 14 000kr for an ensuite room with breakfasts in Sept ie just out of tourist season.
The guesthouse is situated on a farm just off the main highway 1 between Vik and Skogass, closer to Skogass I think. The location is great if you are doing a self drive tour of the south coast of Iceland as we did for six days Rek to Hofn. All guests arrived by car. There is a 1 km gravel road between the main highway and the guesthouse but it is flat and there is basically no other traffic so drivers can go at speed they are comfortable with. The view out the bedroom and loungeroom windows was fantastic.
The room had all that we required, including desk, space, lamps, heating, very comfy big bed and block out blinds for the windows. The bathroom was very modern. The room decor was a bit old for my style but I wouldnt not stay there because of a dark green bedspread. The friendliness and extra facilities outway this.
The staff were great and answered our many questions. We chatted for quite some time on both stays. There is free wifi throughout, and a desktop computer in the front foyer for guests to use if you dont have own device.
The evening meals were delicious, with produce coming straight from the farm and surrounds. On our first stay we checked in late and ordered late, and the onlly food option was soup iwth bread. The Lobster Soup was the best I have tasted in my life, it was fantastic. Also great value at 900kr. We were also able to have seconds at no extra cost if we wanted. The meal on the second night was a choice between fish or lamb and both meals were great. The staff were so friendly with our toddler and kind to him when he spilt a glass of water. They also supplied him with some plastic bowls with kid friendly motifs. Breakfast was great with very 'fresh' and typical Icelandic breakfast foods.
The guesthouse was incredibly quiet (although this would be dependent on who the other guests were at the time). The communal lounge was very nice place to chat with other guests. It was also decked out at one end with some fantastic toys our four year old had a great time playing with. The toys included a toy kitchen with foods and utensils, a farm set, puzzles, blocks and a huge box of tractors. There was a kitchen where guests can prepare there own meals if they wished.
The staff were lovely, genuine people.
We had a load of laundry done while there and it was done well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side looking out over the plain are ensuite and larger. Some rooms on the hill side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We really only stayed to sleep so I can only speak to the sleeping arrangements. It was quiet, comfortable and a rather large room. Our room faced the road/parking lot but was still great. I would stay here for numerous nights if I had the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWHATSOUTTHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very clean, recently refurbished guesthouse, friendly staff. Simple but very tasty breakfast. The road to the guesthouse a bit difficult for small cars, but with reduced speed it is ok.
The friendly dog is a real help for the staff, escorting guest to the entrance at arrival. The wi- fi speed was decent, good enough for e-mails and browsing.

Great location for Puffin watching as Dyrhólaey and the Westman Islands are close.

Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Very well equipped kitchen for cooking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location with views out over the plains to the mountains and is close to the coast. We arrived there late evening and were warmly greeted at reception. The guest house is very clean, warm and everything is in very good condition. The décor confers the aura of another time, probably the 50’s – so, getting to vintage chic! The web site warns of there being no internet access. However, that has since been rectified and there was excellent free wifi in my room and in the relaxing lounge, which had games for children and a TV if you wanted it. While there were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, this was bettered by the availability of a large kitchen for guest to use. The kitchen was equipped with not only coffee/tea making facilities it also had full cooking facilities and lots of crockery and cutlery such that you could prepare and eat a meal there if you so wished, which is useful because of the isolation. Separate from the kitchen was a dining room that served a reasonable continental breakfast. All in all a friendly, enjoyable and decent enough place to stop for a night or so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very clean, modern, comfortable rooms and a very friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was great with a wide selection of fresh, high-quality stuff and it's in a great location as a stop along the Ring Road, convenient to Dyrholaey and Vik. It's a beautiful setting with lots of goats, birds and ducks to see on the way in and out. The front desk was friendly and helpful and we had absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in a sleeping bag room which was tiny, but that's ok. What is not ok that there was only one electrical plug. No don't get me wrong, there were others but they were "magical" which meant that only their own devices could be plugged in not yours. For this day and age when everyone has MP3 players, cell phones, and laptops with no way to charge them on the road but overnight, this is really unacceptable, especially in a country where their power is dirt cheap. Not only that this was the most expensive sleeping bag room I came across 9,000 (close to 60 EUR) for a room the size of a shoebox with no electricity plugs is downright criminal. This did not include breakfast nor a private bathroom. Worst place we stayed in in Iceland, I do not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
6.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
9.1 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
532 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
273 reviews
20.2 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
273 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steig

Property: Guesthouse Steig
Address: Steig, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated on a farm in Steig, 5 km from Dyrholaey Cliffs. It offers a communal kitchen and TV lounge, plus traditional Icelandic food in the restaurant. Guesthouse Steig’s rooms are decorated in light tones. Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathrooms. Some rooms offer views of the Eyjafjalla Glacier and Atlantic Ocean. A free internet computer is found at reception. Outside, children can see sheep, hens and ducks up close. Skogar Museum is 20 km from Steig Guesthouse. Shops, a swimming pool and Vik's black, basalt sand beach are 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Steig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing