We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, good food and nice staff”
Review of Guesthouse Steig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Steig
Ranked #4 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Very very clean place, where you don´t get the feeling of staying in former guests dirt, like often at regular hotels.
It was wonderful to arrive and be able to feel the rural tranquility. We took a walk up the mountain behind the guesthouse. The view was spectacular. It was also great to see the nature up close end taste the water from the brook in the tiny valley there.
We had dinner which was very tasty and a desert that broke all boundaries it tasted so good. Tip: Ask for Disa´s dream cake if you like sweet desert, you wont be disappointed.

The best experience. I recommend this place to everyone I know.

It´s obvious that Iceland has gone / is going through financial crisis. You can see that on the price of many things. But I know for a fact that most of it is not overpriced, it´s just enough for them to survive in the economy that currently is very hard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SolrunVraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 228 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

Guesthouse Steig was a reasonable choice, although a bit pricy for the service provided. We opted for a single room for 2 people and it was a decent size but the shower was not separate from the rest of the bathroom, making things a bit wet after being used. The beds were comfy and the curtains somewhat thick. The breakfast was not that great, with only scanty fresh fruit/veggies that weren't even ripe. White toast and buns, skir, tea and coffee. Cereals and muesli. Furthermore, despite there being limited effort to prepare the breakfast, it was impossible to have it earlier than 8am. We had sandwiches to go with a juice instead. The best part of the place, though, was access to the functional kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

A little drive from vik, but hosts were friendly and welcoming, room was clean and beds comfortable and bathroom nice and clean (we had our own bathroom not a shared one). There is a kitchen and a lounge area and a computer with Internet! We stayed 2 nights and would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in one of Guesthouse Steig's sleeping bag accommodation rooms. Very clean and quiet. Not as welcoming a place as others in Iceland. The food in the dining room is average for Iceland (meaning not a great value for the price, but this place is certainly not alone in that - the whole country is overpriced, as is any island nation.) I would recommend it but only if other places with a more welcoming atmosphere where booked up. It's funny how much of a difference that can make on a trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ootanaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at the Guesthouse Steig for one night. It was a very clean and quiet place, so quiet in fact that I didn't feel comfortable blow drying my hair after my evening shower. The bathroom was right across the hall from our room which was convenient. The shared kitchen was nice and there was a nice place to sit outside in the evening. It was very close to great sights and we really loved the town of Vik.
There are specific times that you have to check in so we had to plan our day around that and make sure we got there on time, then we left to go back out.
We had a misunderstanding and it seems we accidentally got "sleeping bag accomodations" on our internet reservation. The hotel was full and there were no towels, sheets and blankets for us. The owner had to rifle through closets to find us blankets that were probably not clean. Not really their fault since it seems that we requested "sleeping bag accomodations" but you would think there might be a few extra sheets laying around. We would stay there again with clarification on the sheet situation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eandd Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at Guesthouse Steig as part of a driving tour of South Iceland in July 2011. We stayed primarily in small guesthouses, and Guesthouse Steig was our favorite of the week! It was very clean and comfortable. Our room had 2 twin beds pushed together (common practice) and we had a lovely view of the working farm. The owners / staff were welcoming and breakfast was hearty - typical Icelandic breakfast of muesli, meats, cheeses, toast, etc. We also appreciated having access to a computer with Internet in the lobby (for plotting the next day's adventure.) Guesthouse Steig is close to Dyhrolaey (bird cliffs) and Vik. We ate dinner in Vik at Hotel Lundi...excellent Icelandic lobster!! Overall, this was a great stay and I would highly recommend for a farm / guesthouse stay!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank jbtraveler_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christoph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
6.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
9.1 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
581 reviews
6.1 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steig

Address: Steig, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range: $149 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated on a farm in Steig, 5 km from Dyrholaey Cliffs. It offers a communal kitchen and TV lounge, plus traditional Icelandic food in the restaurant. Guesthouse Steig’s rooms are decorated in light tones. Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathrooms. Some rooms offer views of the Eyjafjalla Glacier and Atlantic Ocean. A free internet computer is found at reception. Outside, children can see sheep, hens and ducks up close. Skogar Museum is 20 km from Steig Guesthouse. Shops, a swimming pool and Vik's black, basalt sand beach are 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Steig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing