We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Halldorskaffi

Halldorskaffi
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We chose to eat here because it is rated #1 on TripAdvisor but we were disappointed.
We found a hair in the soup.
The Salmon that both my friend and me ordered arrived dry. This is not to mention that the portion was very small, which doesn't matter because it was not good.
Disappointing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    453
    137
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great little bite in a quaint location with a good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were heading through Vik en-route and stopped off for dinner. Originally we thought Hotel Lundi would serve our needs better judging by the reviews - BUT it is to be noted that the hotel has been taken over and the menu was very different in there from the one the reviews on here indicate. It looked a lot less appealing so we went next door to the busy Halldorskaffi and I am ever so glad we did.

The staff were friendly and we managed to find the last table in there. It was a blend of locals and tourists and we had the soup for starter (included with the main) which was a lovely tomato/carrot blend and then the Charr and Salmon for the mains. The fish was sublimely cooked and whilst simple in it's approach when the fish is this fresh and locally sourced, the less you do with it the better.

It may not win any Michelin stars but as a taste of Iceland, as a meal in it's own right, and with good service this place certainly would win my recommendation to anyone travelling through or staying in Vik.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LonNW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good indeed!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Having just arrived in Vik, after a long morning walking and site seeing, we booked the hotel next door which was basic. We decided we deserved a nice lunch to ready for the rest of the afternoon. It was all excellent, so much so we decided to eat dinner here later too.
Great menu, well priced which is most unusual for Iceland. Very tasty, lovely interior all round one of our favourites in Iceland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“deservedly #1”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I loved everything about this little cafe/restaurant in Vik. It has a great atmosphere in an older building, friendly staff, and a menu that goes beyond coffee and cakes. We sampled two of the cakes (the chocolate cake was amazing, skyr cake was OK - was expecting it to be more of a cheese-cake), and we had the burgers. Their house burger is amazing, and you can tell the meat comes from those happy grass-eating cows you've seen along your drive to Vik. The vegetables were very fresh. All the food comes from Iceland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonSomervilleMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
262 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for dinner. We had the lamb sandwich (good, better if served on something other than sandwich bread) and the codfish (lightly breaded, big portion). Service okay...much of it is self service- water, napkins, etc...but you never know til you watch what the others do. Tourist info next door.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carzim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halldorskaffi also viewed

Vik, South Region
Vik, South Region
 
Myrdalshreppur, South Region
 

Been to Halldorskaffi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing