We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Lamb Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halldorskaffi

Halldorskaffi
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Lamb Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

There isn't a lot to choose from in Vik, as mentioned before, and we stumbled in, hungry after a long day of driving. Having been stuck with overpriced food in other restaurants in the country, we had finally asked to look at a menu before officially being seated. The waitress was more than happy to oblige and we took a seat, happy with the prices and variety we saw. Both my husband and I chose the lamb sandwich and it was ah.maz.ing. We still talk about it a few months later and wish we could have another go at it. Amazingly tender and totally hit the spot. I don't recall the service (I was too in love with my food) but know the atmosphere was quaint and bistro-like. Loved it and have recommended to friends passing through.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    436
    127
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Iceland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

It was open and busy on a late Monday night in October. Menu has options and we recommend the seafood. That was the best salmon I've had in ages, and my boyfriends chart was excellent. The burger and pizza seemed ordinary, so go for the fish. Vik, after all, is known as a fishing town. One person was tending tables and he did a good job. Bonus: the Northern Lights came out that night while we were there, capping off a great dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bluehen2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

There's not too many options in October, but Halldorskaffi is probably the best one. The waitress was friendly, the room was cozy and the food was excellent. We had the lamb sandwich based on reviews in Tripadvisor - Yum!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DP_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
198 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food was good with no service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was the nicest looking place in Vik. That was not saying much because there were about 3 or 4 places. The food was good. My wife and I ordered sandwiches and soup. The soup was good and the sandwiches were filling with fries.
The service was almost non existent. The waiter was behind the bar. We had to walk up to the bar for menus. We ordered soup, we had to get up pour the soup, cut our bread, and get the napkins, water, and utensils. Then the waiter brought our food. Again we walked over and got the knife and fork. Finally, we walked over to the bar to pay. We ordered cappuccino to go at the bar. The waiter only left the bar when he had to.
The food was good, the service was bad, but it could have been worse. It was pricey but its Iceland. $10 for soup and almost $20 for a hamburger. $5 for cappuccino.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank piasan-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Food in Iceland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

this place was awesome! the food was great! very nice people! we went a couple nights in a row because the food was so good. loved it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumpelstiltskinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halldorskaffi also viewed

Vik, South Region
Vik, South Region
 
Myrdalshreppur, South Region
 

Been to Halldorskaffi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing