We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hurb
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
74
77
45
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
77
45
21
15
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 232 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2017

It gave us pause before writing a review that wasn't stellar as the family who owns this farm is so hardworking, but one needs to consider this property carefully before booking a "hotel" room that is nearly $500/night with no real amenities. We booked this location three months out as there were so few options nearer to Vik. It's remote. The family cooks the meal they are providing for the evening, with only 1 or two choices and a timed event. The common areas are restricted hours and their children were playing in them when they were open during our visit. There is no coffee service set out or in the rooms. They prefer guests buy beverages only from them, no ice or grocery stores/gas stations in the area. There are no snacks available either. As it was a working farm, we anticipated seeing animals, but there were no animals to be seen within walking distance and our view was of a parking lot. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. The owner is a good cook and the evening meal of fish was good.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the Guesthouse cabins for one night. It was a lot of space for the price - 3 bedrooms for the price of one hotel room in most of Iceland. Everything was totally fine - clean, standard breakfast, near a mountain and the water- but I think my expectations were a little too high given the stellar reviews here and in Lonely Planet. It was okay but. It extra special. Our experience was also colored by miserable weather so we couldn't see any of the potential great views. Maybe if we'd been there on a sunnier day we would have thought the place was fabulous.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

Spent 2 nights in this place 2 weeks ago. Quite isolated, hard to find if no car, but pretty cool, king size beds, excelent position near to some touristic atractions and fair price for its value. All you can eat breakfast, free tea in your room all day long, bathrooms with all you need, very warm even when the weather is extremely cold - and trust me, when you hear the wind blowing hard on nights is no fun at all!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Darkdistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, booked via Hey Iceland. The accommodation was fine; comfortable bed, parking, ensuite, tea and coffee facilities, nice hot radiators! Breakfast choices were limited and staff were pleasant but not particularly welcoming, we felt a little awkward at times. But it was a nice place to stay and the location is good for Vik, Glacier, Skogafoss and Black sand beach.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Petunia_Pimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

We stayed here last week for two nights.The guesthouse seems to be in the middle of no where with good views of the sea and mountains .Perfect location just 12 km from Vik and the black beach .Skogafoss is also not far away.Joukarsarlon is two hours drive away.The best part was that we were able to see the very elusive northern lights from here on the very first night.The landlady is very helpful and even arranged for us to go snow mobiling.The place is clean with tea/coffee facilities,sitting area.
Breakfast is also good with skyr,cereal,bread,waffles.Fine by Icelandic standards.
Only thing we did not like was that we had to wait for nearly half an hour when we arrived to check in as there was nobody at the reception.The landlady came after we went and informed her at her house which is near the guesthouse.
If we visit Iceland again will definitely stay here.Free parking is available.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shreerupa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews