We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
74
77
45
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
77
45
21
15
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 232 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Enjoyed our one night stay here! We had a family house which was so wonderful for us as we were traveling as a group of 5. Great dinner there and a great night's sleep. We left too early to experience breakfast, but I'm sure it's great as well!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

We had a room with a double bed & ensuite bathroom. Room was very clean, had great pillows, not huge but spacious enough for us. Kettle in the room with coffee & tea. Overall Guesthouse was clean, had a nice atmosphere & the staff was very kind & helpful. Breakfast was included in a very nice dining room with bread, jams, cheese, juice, fresh waffles, cereals, a variety of coffees & espresso maker. Simple and good. Great location for visiting South Iceland. Wish we could have spent more than one night here!!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank CK0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016

stayed in a double room with shared facilities. Guesthouse is located off route 1 in the country side, I enjoyed the more isolated location, horses and sheep outside. Beds were comfortable, nice hot shower and good breakfast in the morning. My one complaint is with the shower. Anytime someone takes a shower, the entire bathroom essentially floods over and needed to use a squeegee to try to get the water down the drain.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 542katieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

We visited in October and booked a room with private bathroom. We arrived after dark, the guesthouse was about 10 min drive from highway 1. It's very isolated from everything else, pretty much in the middle of nowhere, which could be a nice experience waking up to nice views. The lady at the reception kindly agreed to prepare dinner for us (a bit on the expensive side, but then again, we were in Iceland). The room was very basic, but had Wifi, heating, and plugs. We slept well, enjoyed the free breakfast and were off to our next adventure re-energized.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lena_aka_Encarnacion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Our host was very helpful and kind. She had rice cakes to accommodate my gluten free dietary restrictions which was a welcome surprise since there were several homemade jams at breakfast I was dying to try. The rooms are comfortable with excellent showers and even more amazing views of the ocean, pastures, glacier and mountains. The horses will come right up to you and the sunsets were particularly vibrant. It felt like a mix between a hotel and a friend's house. Note of caution, the 1km road to Guesthouse Vellir is unpacked gravel.

Room tip: The rooms with private bathrooms are at the end of the building nearest to the animals and have windows on 2 sides.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dobbiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews