We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Super Jeep Tour with Volcano Hotel”

Myrdalsjokull Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
$525.63*
and up
South Coast Private Tour from Reykjavik with 1 hour of Snowmobiling on a Glacier
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Super Jeep Tour with Volcano Hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We did a super jeep tour with Johann (owner of Volcano Hotel) on the glacier. It was beautiful and I highly recommend it. He had us walking through the snow and exploring ice caves. He was also very knowledgable about the area. Make sure you get up on the glacier, whatever way you can.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    70
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“close up of glaciers”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

many self-guided trails of varying lengths - we arrived in mid-afternoon and did a 7.5km trail that included outlooks onto the glaciers from the top of the cliff, as well as a short, 1-1.5km that led right up to the glacier itself..simply breathtaking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank balladpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snowy hike on the glacier”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were out on a two day super jeep tour and our guid Reynir took us on a hike up the glacier. It was fun and exciting. One should have a guide for safety, they know were you can go. It is much cracks and holes that are covered by snow. We had snow when we were there but otherwise you have good views of the area. We recommend a trip to the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Qiwano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for an excursion”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We did a "hike on a glacier" excursion here with the Arcanum Iceland. It was amazing - really fun great tour guides - fun, energetic, etc. Liked the other American couple we hiked with too. All in all a great experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wineforthejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Most amazing trip ever”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went snowmobiling up here, so beautiful, the photos do not do the glacier justice. Absolutely breathtaking - take a camera!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kickinchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myrdalsjokull Glacier also viewed

 
Vik, South Region
 

Been to Myrdalsjokull Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing