We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melting at a drastic rate!”

Myrdalsjokull Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
$541.18*
and up
South Coast Private Tour from Reykjavik with 1 hour of Snowmobiling on a Glacier
More Info
$99.90*
and up
Southern Iceland Glaciers, Waterfalls and Beaches Day Tour
More Info
$245.89*
and up
Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Melting at a drastic rate!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family enjoyed visiting this galcier; however, we were quite disturbed when our guide showed us where the glacier used to be just 10 years ago. If this information was accurate, it is melting at an alarming rate! Incorporating a visit here combined with other adventures such a snowmobiling or ice climbing is well worth the trip from the city!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1TravlinFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    74
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“watch your step!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I rented a car and were driving down to Dyrholaey to see the puffins and decided to stop off at the glacier since it was on the way. If you rented a car proceed with caution- the road is much better suited to SUVs than little cars. We did it in a very very little car, but very slowly- there are many pot holes. Once at the parking lot it is a very short walk. I recommend parking at the first parking area and walking along the path- lovely views. There was a tour that parked in the lower area along the river and walked that way, but I don't think they had as good a view as we did. Please note that if you want to actually climb on the glacier that the glacial sediment is very fine, and where it is wet becomes like quicksand in some places. Exercise caution in stepping on something that appears wet directly next to the glacier! My husband sunk in past his knees before he was able to hop back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank themurphffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Snowcatting adventure”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went with Arcanum tours and after a lot of faffing around were kitted up well and took the off road minibus up to the glacier. This was a fun half hour of being thrown around which the teenagers enjoyed! Then we had a quick lesson on how to drive a snow cat and off we went. It was a bit scary at first (2 minutes) but if you know how to ski its easy to get the hang of it and I had my son shouting with delight on the back (you are not allowed to drive unless you have a valid driving licence - which was not asked for) when we cranked up to 30km/hr. Being up on the glacier was fantastic and the whole adventure was one of the best things we did on our 10 day self organised tour of Iceland. We had teenage boys with us and I don't think it'd be suitable for kids under about 8 but depends on their sense of adventure and your confidence.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VJM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

While staying at a hotel near Vik, the owners gave us directions to one of the outliers of this glacier. After a 1/2 hour walk from the parking lot I was standing next to the glacier. I was able to touch it and see details that are just not visible in pictures. Awesome!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience- not to be missed.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Did the walk by booking online with Iceland Mountain Guides.We drove from Rekyavik in a hire car but allow at least 2 hours to do this.We arranged for them to collect us from their office in Skogar as the track to the glacier is very rough with pot holes full of water from the very frequent rain in that area.I would not have attempted it in a hire car for fear of damage and big bills !The transfer is only available with their 1pm walk..Our guide was excellent,great knowledge about the glacier and it's history.He took,safely using ropes, our two teenage nieces down into what is called the 'grand canyon' it's a smallish canyon on the glacier.They won't forget their experience and overall it's a unique experience worth the journey and the cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ianmcllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myrdalsjokull Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Myrdalsjokull Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing