We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A full summary of a wonderful place in a very short time...and puffins!”
Review of EyjaTours

EyjaTours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience Westman Islands in a PERSONAL and PRIVATE way with Eyjatours. Make your time in Westman Islands unforgettable with our unique and local tours. Our goal is to make your trip magical and memorable so you will never forget this amazing Island. We are committed to provide excellent and personal service for travellers who want to enjoy and discover Westman Islands in more personal and private way. Our tours are guided by local guide with expert knowledge, personal attention and many years of experience.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We had no luck with the weather during our tour, having low fog over the island. This did not stop our tour guide Eppi from entertaining us for a solid 2 hours as we learned all about the island's history, with a special focus on the 1973 eruption, but also today's economy and entertainment. We visited two puffin colonies and got to personally meet one at the end. He seemed genuinely involved in the experience of his guests, even my 12 and 9 year old boys. The small bus? Perfect...easy to get on and off quickly.

Could you do all of this by yourself? Yes, you could certainly go to the places by yourself, but Eppi's multilingual skills and customization of the tour to what we were there for really made it the most worthwhile thing we did in our week in Iceland. The first thing he asked was why we booked the tour and what we wanted to get out of it. It was simply unforgettable. You are paying for the knowledge of the tour guide, and I hope many more get to enjoy Eppi's wit and sharing of a place his family has called home for many generations. Worth every krona...if you only have a day then you should go on the early tour and then leave time to explore the island by yourself afterwards!

1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EyjaTours, Owner at EyjaTours, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Hi Paul:)

Thank you for your great review, it means so much to us to get feedback from our customer :) We hope that your staying in Iceland has been wonderful and hopefully you will visit Vestmannaeyjar again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"volcano tour"
in 15 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"local guide"
in 7 reviews
"private tour"
in 9 reviews
"westman islands"
in 19 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 7 reviews
"few hours"
in 6 reviews
"small group"
in 5 reviews
"informative tour"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 6 reviews
"frequent stops"
in 2 reviews
"daily life"
in 2 reviews
"island including"
in 2 reviews
"important parts"
in 2 reviews
"interesting information"
in 2 reviews
"rope swinging"
in 2 reviews
"nice mix"
in 2 reviews
Filter

216 - 220 of 286 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2016

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

My wife and I hired a private guide to take us around the island for a few hours. Audur was the guide and she did a great job telling us about the history and showing us the sites on the island. She was also very helpful in advance of the trip helping us to set up our tour of the island.

A couple of highlights...the puffin blinds on the south side of the main island is a must visit where you can see hundreds of puffins nesting on the beautiful hillsides.

Audur also showed us the rest of the island and got is oriented.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EyjaTours, Owner at EyjaTours, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hi Mark:)

Thank you for your great review, it means so much to us to get feedback from our customer :) We hope that your staying in Iceland has been wonderful and hopefully you will visit Vestmannaeyjar again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Our guide Ebbi brought the traditions and wildlife closer to the visitors in a humorous way. We had a lot of fun listen to the stories from him and meet the rescued puffins in the aquarium. During the 2 hours, we've seen all the highlights on the island and learned a lot about the living on volcanos.

Thank Bubblesfullofdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EyjaTours, Owner at EyjaTours, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hi :)

Thank you for your great review, it means so much to us to get feedback from our customer :) We hope that your staying in Iceland has been wonderful and hopefully you will visit Vestmannaeyjar again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This tour gave us an overview of many highlights of HEIMAEY. Our guide was Ebbi and he was learned, had a great sense of humor and was a straight talker. I got a clear understanding of not only the wildlife and geology of the island but of the determined, no nonsense character of the people. You walk away from this tour with a great respect for the people of this land.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lynnrK2423DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EyjaTours, Owner at EyjaTours, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hi Lynn:) Thank you for your great review, it means so much to us to get feedback from our customer :) We hope that your staying in Iceland has been wonderful and hopefully you will visit Vestmannaeyjar again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EyjaTours also viewed

Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Heimaey Island, Westmann Islands
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 

Been to EyjaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing