We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Slippurinn

Slippurinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WE ARE OPEN FROM MAY-SEPTEMBER We are proud to mention that in October 2015, Slippurinn was ranked as Iceland's second best restaurant according to the White Guide / Best restaurants in the Nordics. Slippurinn is a family run eatery by the harbour in a 100 year old building that once housed a machine-workshop that served the old shipyard. It's casual, friendly and excellent quality. Our philosophy is simple and honest, we cook our food from scratch using the best ingredients in season. We get most of our vegetables from farmers on the south coast and we go next door to the fish market to get the freshest fish possible. We grow our own herbs and salads and forage the island for wild herbs and seaweeds. We make use of old and traditional cooking techniques, such as drying, salting, pickling, fermenting, smoking etc., Combined with newer ones to create our carefully crafted dishes. Our unique cocktails made from local herbs are a must try! The highly ambitious kitchen is run by chef Gísli Matthías Audunsson, who also runs Matur og Drykkur, one of Reykjaviks'most interesting restaurants. Indiana his sister, is the general manager and bar manager and mom Katrín is the front of house.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Freshest food, friendliest staff. Pretty restaurant. A reason enough to go to Vestmannaeyjar. They offer 4-5 dishes for a very good price, a few thousand ISK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hjortur_Jonasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    47
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have travelled in Iceland for 3 weeks and Slippurinn was one of the best restaurants where we have eaten. You can go there without hesitation. The food is from very good natural ingredients, the staff is very friendly, the atmosphere is very pleasant. We are still missing the good food even though we have eaten there three evenings in a row. Philippe

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant, awesome dishes.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Just one word to describe this excellent location with their excellent food. Recommended in the Lonely Planet and by locals. They did not lie: Slippurinn is the best in town. Not only the main courses are great, also try their wonderful desserts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AljoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The word still needs to be invented to describe our stay at Slippurinn! You couldn't tell from the outside what is waiting for you inside.
The food was much over expectations. The chicken with thyme + lemon was the best chicken I ever had. The catch of the day - cod fish - was also incredibly good. Not to mention the dessert! The rhubarb pie (with stolen rhubarb ;-)) is another highlight of the menu.
The atmosphere was really cozy. The waiters are very kind and friendly.

We enjoyed our stay very much and we hope to get the chance to come back again soon. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome way to complete our Iceland trip!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Vestmannaeyjar was our last destination before heading to Reykjavík for our flight. We saw the menu on the ferry and thought it looked interesting. We made a visit to the restaurant to check it out, and instantly we knew we wanted the tasting menu - no incompetent chef would offer tasting menu afterall, and everything was FANTASTIC and it was really an awesome way to complete our Iceland trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slippurinn also viewed

Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 

Been to Slippurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing