We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Einsi Kaldi

Einsi Kaldi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: European, Seafood, International, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant Einsi Kaldi is located on the ground floor of Hotel Vestmannaeyjar. The house itself is a historic place, where a lot of establishments have been located, such as a cinema, a soda factory, a printshop and later on it was used as a storage building. The house collapsed during the volcano eruption of 1973 but was rebuilt again in 1975. The owner of the restaurant Einar Bjorn Arnason ,,Einsi kaldi", local man, born and raised in Vestmannaeyjar, enjoys greatly to put his magic and imagination into delicious seafood-dishes and for that he is renowned. His interest in working with fresh fish is not really surprising since he is so close to one of our richest fishing grounds, which gives him the opportunity to obtain fresh products from the boats daily. He actually puts a great emphasis on obtaining his products locally, such as cliff- and seabirds along with various herbs picked on the Island. During the summer Einsi kaldi, and his team offers a diverse menu from lunchtime to evening, seven days a week. At lunch the emphasis is on light and fresh dishes, such as soup, meet and of course fresh Icelandic fish and Danish Open Sandwiches. In the evening variety is the name of the game and you can choose everything from appetizers to sumptuous meat and fish dishes, something for all tastes.
Harelbeke, België
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had an exellent menu, aftasten of ingeland correct price and a spoedig presentation, this Cook deserves a star

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eriktrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    23
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a perfect night”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Einsi Kaldi on two different occasions with 2 different groups of people, and both times we received both excellent food and service. Very warm and attentive atmosphere and every detail was perfect, and the Chef came out to check if everything was to our satisfaction which I think is a bonus :) Thank you Einsi Kaldi

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I just got back from our vacation and our experience here was one of our top highlights. The smoked puffin was amazing. The head chef was extremely personable and this would rank as one of my top dining experiences ever!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwdw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
259 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Outstanding "Tapas"”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were a party of 5 out for lunch on a day trip to the island, and with us was an Icelander who knew what to look for. We asked for some tastes of Puffin, other local birds and fish.
We got a very well composed plate of different locally caught Tapas. Lovely presentation, good service and excellent tastes. If you want something special in a nice atmosphere this place is worth a try !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The soup!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The lobster soup was outstanding. Our entire meal was delicious, fresh and well presented, but the soup deserves the extra accolades. A visit from the chef was an extra treat and gave us the opportunity to compliment him on the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Einsi Kaldi also viewed

Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 

Been to Einsi Kaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing