We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many puffin!!!”
Review of Viking Tours

Viking Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Viking Tours is a fully licensed travel operator with many years of experiences in Westman Islands. We can offer you a wide range of magnificent experiences in Westman Islands like boat tours, bus tours and hiking tours. Enjoy with us the beautiful islands in the south of Iceland, the unique volcanic nature, one of the largest varieties of see birds in Iceland, and more. We assist groups and individuals in a way that we try to fulfill all their wishes and needs. See you this summer in Westman Islands!!!
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

Such a warm, friendly, and knowledgeable staff! Unnur is very knowledgeable about where/when to see puffin and we were able to get up close to one before it flew off to its nest. She was awesome! She knew exactly where to go and we would not have seen any puffin without her guidance. She also told us the history of the island, other sights to see, and was so funny and friendly. Her tour was the highlight of the trip to the island. Totally recommend :-)

Thank Margret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingToursHeimaey, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2015

Dear Margret.
Thank you for this kind review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our bus tour. Great that you got to see a lot of puffins, it's always so amazing.
Unnur gives you her best regards and we hope your trip in Iceland has been wonderful.

Best regards
Viking Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bus tour"
in 7 reviews
"top deck"
in 4 reviews
"eagle air"
in 3 reviews
"westman islands"
in 7 reviews
"gray line"
in 2 reviews
"comfortable boat"
in 2 reviews
"warm clothes"
in 2 reviews
"bird colonies"
in 3 reviews
"sea birds"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 3 reviews
"great scenery"
in 2 reviews
"her husband"
in 2 reviews
"sunny day"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"saxophone"
in 16 reviews
"cave"
in 20 reviews
"circle"
in 10 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2015

The day of the tour was rainy and cold with a strong east wind. We bundled up and arrived at 10:30 for the 11:00 tour. We stood by a boat with the name Viking Tours. After a while some more tourists arrived. They saw a different boat. We all went to the second boat as that looked more like the picture in the ad. At about 10:50 the captain and pilot came out of the first boat and walked to the second boat. They looked at our purchased online vouchers and said we needed to exchange them for tickets at the Viking tour office. We trekked over to the office with 6 or 7 other people. The office was not that far away, but there were three turns through very short blocks to get there. I got there pretty quick, but one of the ladies on the tour had mobility issues, and was only arriving at the office as I was leaving to return to the boat, with my transaction finished. Once everyone had their tickets sorted out and we were on the boat, the captain informed us that the east wind had closed the harbor so we would have a cruise around the harbor which would include the puffin nesting site and the cave. He said there would be a partial refund. When we stopped in front of the nesting site, I saw some seabirds. I'm not sure if any of them were puffins. The ticketing problems got the cruise off to a poor start. I think if the boat had gone around the island as advertised, it would have had a chance to recover from the poor start. With the poor weather and puffins staying securely in their burrows, it just wasn't that enjoyable.

3  Thank Carlyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingToursHeimaey, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Dear Customer.
Thank you for your review and comment. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our customers. We are really sorry about your experiences. But we can’t do anything about the weather and the wild life. If the weather is so bad that we can’t sail out of the harbor then at least we try to short cut our boat tour and sail only into the cave Klettshelli where the captain is playing Saxophone.
We are sorry that you (and other customers) had to wait on our boat to find out that you have to come to our office to get the tickets. If you bought the boat tour on our website then we are pointing out in „terms and condition“ that our customers will get the tickets in our office. If you bought the boat tour over another company, then they should give you all the right information where to get the tickets.
How we said before we are really sorry that you didn‘t enjoy this tour with us. Hopefully you had still a nice stay in Westman Islands and a nice journey in Iceland.
Best regards
Viking tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

Very interesting tour around the island. Best part for me was exploring some of the inner caves. To show the wonder pus acoustics, our guide played a beautiful solo on the sax in the cave. Sublime.

1  Thank mrezni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingToursHeimaey, General Manager at Viking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Dear Customer
Thank you for this kind review, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our boat trip on our beautiful island.

Best regards, Viking Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2015

The boat tour as well as the bus tour are very recommendable! Even in the rain, the Westmann islands are a stunning place to visit. The boat tour gave us nice views of the island of Heimaey and we even saw some killer whales (orca’s) who made this trip even more memorable. The driver/guide from the bus tour was very humoristic and had some nice stories to share with us. It is definitely worth it to go on this boat and bus tour to have an overview of the island(s). Afterwards a visit to the museum and a hike up to mount Eldfell make a day tour to Vestmannaeyjar an unforgettable experience.

Thank Annelies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingToursHeimaey, Front Office Manager at Viking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Annelies
Thank you for this kind review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both our boat tour and bus tour and were able to enjoy the spectacular nature of our beautiful Island. Great that you got to see the Killer Whales, it's always so amazing.
Hope your trip has been wonderful.

Best regards, Viking Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile

We took the boat tour around the island. It was worthwile. We enjoyed the saxophone solo by the skipper in a sea cavern.
The only disappointment is for the payment system: they don't take the American Express card although they sport an Amex sticker on their door...

Thank Babachiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingToursHeimaey, Public Relations Manager at Viking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

Dear Customer
Thank you for this kind review we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our boat trip.
Thank you for pointing out the Amex sticker on the window. We will remove it.

Hope you're stay in Iceland has been great

Best Regards, Viking Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Tours also viewed

Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Heimaey Island, Westmann Islands
 

Been to Viking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;