We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vestmannaeyjar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed an the vestmannaeyjar island for one night to discover the landscape and the puffins. Once we arrived we were pleased by the beauty of the island and looked for our hotel. The staff was very friendly and your room was really large and clean. We had a good sleep there and the breakfast was alright. The room was a bit old-fashioned but lovely, like everything on this island. I guess this might be the nicest hotel to stay von vestmannaeyjar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neetjeSeevetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 210 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

After arriving with Herjólfur at night it was no trouble finding the place. Reception is common with Hotel Vestmannaeyjar, the hostel itself is just around the corner. There was some sort of a building site in the front lawn, it is a good thing that the property is expanding! We were woken up by a sound of a heavy machinery doing the building, however we were about to go explore Heimaey early in the morning in the first place, so what. Common areas are nice, bathroom sufficient and kitchen well equipped. Maybe a bit messy, but as with every facility of this type it's more about other guests than the owners.
All in all I am very satisfied with the service and their friendliness and helpfulness! I definitely would stay again and maybe I will, there is a plan for the future visit and also I am curious how the property will look like after reconstruction!
The only downside may be lack of sockets in the room, however to a place like this you travel light, don't you...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have checked in ourselves in late night hours in the backhouse of this hotel. I noted that the place looked like construction site. On Saturday morning around 8am the bick truck parked under our windows and concrete-mixing truck started his shift. Construction workers all around, I was just waiting when the wrecking ball will come through our room :-) It was my most interesting morning in all hotels, it was very funny to meet the workers in the restroom,in the kitchen,... I have to give 5 of 5!!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank FabioMonArcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Hotel Vestmannaeyjar (also known as the Hotel Thorshammar) is centrally located in Heimaey and an easy walk from the ferry. The hotel has a very good and fairly modern restaurant on the main floor and offers spa services as well. The rooms are a little older, but have a kind of beach hotel feel - a little older, a bit worn down, but clean and perfectly serviceable.

The staff was great, and we did some horseback riding and hiking, all basically accessible right out of the door. The restaurant is definitely worth a meal - it isn't cheap, but probably has the most upscale food on the island and was delicious. All in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from our visit to the Westman Islands. This hotel is centrally located in downtown making it a great choice when looking for accommodations. This hotel also offers an onsite restaurant and spa. Many eateries/activities are located within seconds of the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and stand ready to assist you in planning your stay on the island.

Further details on the hotel can be found on their site hotelvestmannaeyjar.is
Activities for the Westman Island go to vikingtours.is

Your trip isn't complete without trying a Rib Safari ribsafari.is

Enjoy your visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor so that you can get a view of the harbor/island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel earlier this week and it was wonderful! There was this cute teen-aged couple that ran it while the managers were away. They were very helpful with suggestions about restaurants, hiking trails and the aquarium! The room was very clean and quite big, the room rate was Iceland typical, but totally worth it. In the basement is a lovely little spa with hot tubs and sauna. We will definitely come back for next summer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank came224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is always a pleasure to visit Vestmannaeyjar and this hotel is nice, small rooms but excellent Spa downstairs and the staff is very friendly.We were a group of ladies travelling together and we had a sightseeing tour with Viking Tours and Arni Johnsen told us stories about the islands. We had a wonderful time and I must say they best part i how friendly the locals are and willing to help in any way. We had dinner at Einsi Kaldi restaurant...fantastic food and service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vestmannaeyjar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eyjar
Hotel Eyjar
#2 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Hamar
Guesthouse Hamar
#3 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
60 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
283 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
218 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vestmannaeyjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vestmannaeyjar

Address: Vestmannabraut 28, Vestmannaeyjar 900, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Westmann Islands > Heimaey Island > Vestmannaeyjar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vestmannaeyjar
Price Range: $177 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vestmannaeyjar 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar is located in the heart of Vestmannaeyjar town. Although distances are short on the island it is convenient to have all the services you require with in walking distance. The hotel opened its expansion in April 2014 with 24 new spacious rooms. The hotel has now 43 rooms. All rooms have a 10-channel flat screen TV, phone, and free high speed wireless internet connection. The hotel has beautiful views of Heimaklettur to the north and Helgafell to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Vestmannaeyjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing