We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel Aldan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aldan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seydisfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First, Seydisfjordur is a delightful town, and the drive from Egilsstadir is stunning. Hotel Aldan is charming. The rooms are located separately from the main building where the restaurant is. Our room was quite nice, and the bathroom amenities were among the best in our experience in Iceland -- i.e., a shower in the tub, with shampoo and soap provided. However, we did experience noise from a neighbor doing some kind of construction or mechanical work outside our window until 11:00 p.m. This was obviously not the fault of the hotel, but it was still part of the experience.
That said, the staff was top-notch -- experienced, professional, friendly and very knowledgeable. They went above and beyond the call of duty in finding answers to all our questions about the area and Iceland in general.
The restaurant is romantic.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building that used to be a bank, and experienced noise from the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWSLady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Charming room! Large, clean bathroom. Beautiful antiques and comfortable bed. I loved the short walk to the restaurant. There was an excellent breakfast buffet and dinner. An added bonus was being able to control the heat in the room. (Head to the Bistro for informal--although pricey--dinner of old staples like pizza, lasagna, chili con carne. The pizza was surprisingly excellent.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights last month in a double room in the old bank building. As others have noted this building is about a 300 yard walk that is both lovely and easy to the main building where the reception area and restaurant are located. As others have noted there is no elevator in the old bank building but my wife and I had no problems getting our luggage up and down the front stairs to our first floor room.
Our good sized bedroom was spotless and well appointed with comfortable beds and pillows. Our windows opened to the back of the building and offered no spectacular views of the gorgeous fjord but those views are easy obtained by stepping outside. The blackout curtains were most effective. The WiFi worked seamlessly in our bedroom. The bathroom lacked a bathtub but the shower functioned well.
We noticed no problems with noise from other guests or outside noise on either of the two nights we stayed here.
Breakfast was served in the main dining room and the selections were varied and the wait staff was very attentive.
My wife and I had an excellent reindeer dinner on the one night we ate in the restaurant at the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aldan but the best reason to stay at this property is to use it as a strategic base to explore the absolutely stunning areas that are easily accessible in and around Seydisfjordur.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobileResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Due to a sold-out situation at the hotel, my travel mates and I were lucky enough to get the apartment annex located a few blocks away from the main reception and restaurant building. The apartment is a cute and cozy 2-bedroom featuring a living room, full kitchen and spacious bathroom with washer and dryer. 4 people could easily sleep comfortably. We were able to kick back and relax on the comfy couches in front of the entertainment system in the living room after a long day of travel. The apartment is located just a few bocks away from the heart of town. Highly recommend the apartment if you can book it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Enjoyed so much , the area, the town and this hotel! Beautiful rooms, spacious lovely bathrooms, and beds and linen so comfortable ...BUT ... in the morning it is a mission to find a cup of tea or coffee!! Would have been super to awake and enjoy a cup of coffee in the room, but no facilities for coffee even in the building!! ...so we walked to the dining/restaurant building, but they only opened at 7.30 am!! and everything else closed in the town too. Eventually! the coffee and breakfast very good, loved the freshness of the fruit and breads. Dinners too were excellent here at the hotel, great pride is taken with whatever they offer. It is a tiny town, so shopping isn't big, but walking in the beauty of the area is breath-taking and totally absorbing, a magnificent fjord, waterfalls, trails and views. Our stay here was two nights and just gorgeous. Thank you so much Hotel Alden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved this hotel! Our room was in a building that had once been a bank. We had one of the rooms with the alcove bed (as a third bed, which we didn't use). There was a sitting area with two comfortable chairs. The main bed was comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, and large compared to some of the other hotels we stayed in. They provided with nice toiletries. Everything was spotlessly clean. The wifi signal in our room was strong and fast.

Check in was smooth, and the staff were all friendly and able to answer any questions we had about the town.

As others have pointed out, there's no elevator, so you'll have to carry your bags up the stairs. And the restaurant is a separate building, so you'll have to walk to breakfast, but it isn't far. And the view down the fjord as you walk to the restaurant makes up for the need to walk. Breakfast was good, and included fresh fruit and juices in addition to the usual breads and cold cuts. There was a waffle maker, and they had syrup for the waffles, which we didn't find in other restaurants.

The ride into Seydisfjordur does provide beautiful views, but if you don't like mountain switchbacks, it's scary! But it was worth the scary road to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were traveling with a tour group, so had no choice in the stay. We had an alcove bedroom in the old bank building. It was wonderful. The bathroom was large as was the room. The bed was so comfortable and covered with the softest coverlets of the trip. We ate in the main dining building and the food was amazing. Very well prepared and creative. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Walking around the town was Iceland at it's best. One could walk the roads on either side of the fjord, or up the hills. There were small waterfalls everywhere. We went were the tour took us, so didn't have a lot of free time in the town, but would have been able to spend a whole day here easily.

Room Tip: The alcove rooms in the old bank building are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seydisfjordur
23.1 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
257 reviews
11.5 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
352 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
214 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
86 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldan

Address: Nordurgata 2, Seydisfjordur 710, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Seydisfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seydisfjordur
Price Range: $142 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family Hotel that is divided to three separate buildings that were all built around the 1900 and we do our best to keep the old charm in them. Our main building is Hotel Aldan at Nordurgata 2 there is the check in , breakfast is served in that building and as well as in the summer season we have a cafe open during the day and restaurant open in the evening. The rooms are located in two other buildings not far from the main building, Hotel Aldan (the old bank) and then Hotel Snaefell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aldan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldan Hotel Seydisfjordur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing