We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmospheric Hotel in beautiful Fjiord”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aldan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aldan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seydisfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Hotel in beautiful Fjiord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights after an eventful journey from Vik - but it was definitely worth it ! The Ring Road (1) was gravelly in places so allow a bit more time. The view from the pass between Egilsstadir and Seydisfjordur was breathtaking - the fjiord lined with snow capped peaks made even better by the sunny weather. Hotle Aldan accommodation is in the Old Bank which has been carefully renovated and was very comfortable. The Hotel food was of exceptional quality and the restaurant looked out over the fjiord and harbour. Definitely worth the extra miles rather than staying in Egilsstair. The hotel was some distance from the restaurant and you were left to transport your luggage to the bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    95
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
144
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellen, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel Aldan is actually an old (19th cent?) house, renovated for comfort and charm. You check in at the restaurant/cafe a few blocks away where the fresh food and kitchen smells are enticing. Make a reservation for dinner right away.

No elevator at the house so be prepared for steps and maybe no assistance.

Just enough antiques and old photos to be interesting without kitsch or clutter. No spectacular views but we looked out at a budding birch tree; very Iceland. Everything worked, beds, etc. all fine.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more view but you have to work hard to get up and down with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is simply wonderful and super sweet! The staff is lovely, the surrounding is wonderful, the food is delish and i specially recommend the goats cheese salad! Greatness on a plate!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The accommodation was excellent - a lovely room filled with beautiful furniture and a spacious bathroom. Ther bed linen was fist class and very luxurious.
The staff were very freindly and helpful, and we had an excellent meal in the restuarant

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent one night here during our two weeks in Iceland. We had dinner at the hotel and it was one of the best meals we had on the trip. The lamb chops were very tender and flavorful. We stayed in the annexed part, Hotel Snaefell, and loved the character of the old house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Aldan for 2 nights and enjoyed every second! First of all, we were blown away by the drive into the town where the hotel is located. This fjord is gorgeous. Secondly, there were hardly any people around.

We stayed at the old bank building on the first floor and our room was huge! The bed was super comfy (I haves bad back) and I love the idea of individual down comforters so my wife can't get sassy with me for stealing the covers!

The hotel was clean, well decorated and certainly safe. The staff was friendly also. The breakfast was delicious even though I made a mess of the waffle maker each morning. We at dinner at the hotel restaurants both nights at it was quite delicious. We also loved hanging out on the front porch of the main building having cappuccinos and a slice of their always amazing daily cakes.

There are some amazing hikes in the area too. We also spent a morning at the local pool swimming laps. This area is just so private and unpopulated you really can get away from the world here and the nice accommodations at Hotel Aldan just out icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel Aldan was a terrific stay! We stayed in the bank building - the room was gorgeously appointed with antique furniture and coverlets (such a refreshing change after the Ikea-chic of Reykjavik!), very comfortable. The hotel is centrally located, but there is almost nothing open in Seydisfjordur in the winter months. Breakfast (included) was in the main hotel, in a lovely cafe setting. The breads were warm and delicious, and everything was quite satisfying. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The bank building was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seydisfjordur
23.1 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
11.5 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Snaefell
Hotel Snaefell
#3 of 6 in Seydisfjordur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guesthouse Nordursild
Guesthouse Nordursild
#2 of 6 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldan

Property: Hotel Aldan
Address: Nordurgata 2, Seydisfjordur 710, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Seydisfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seydisfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family Hotel that is divided to three separate buildings that were all built around the 1900 and we do our best to keep the old charm in them. Our main building is Hotel Aldan at Nordurgata 2 there is the check in , breakfast is served in that building and as well as in the summer season we have a cafe open during the day and restaurant open in the evening. The rooms are located in two other buildings not far from the main building, Hotel Aldan (the old bank) and then Hotel Snaefell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aldan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldan Hotel Seydisfjordur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing