We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and views”
Review of Langahlid Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langahlid Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

For sure one of the best places we've been in Iceland. The caban is very good with everything you may need. The views are fantastic. Very good privacy so you can stay in the private hot Bath outside seing the views or the Northern lights or the stars and it seems you are all alone in the mountain but with all the Comfort. We were only 3, (couple with 1 child), but this is a large cabin with 3 rooms. And the price was also very good for Iceland. The road to Seyðisfjörður is also a very nice one with fantastic views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maor_Miguel_Ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Langahlid Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

After having spent a couple of nights in family rooms we arrived here! WOW space, views, clean and the cheapest accommodation on our trip around Iceland. It has everything you could need including a hot tub with amazing views, a well equipped kitchen, fantastic shower and space for a family of 4 to spread out. It would be ideal for families with more than two children as it sleeps 6 . Only wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank eviesqueezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Traveling in Iceland in November 2013 meant fighting wild weather and slippery roads, not to mention finding few open restaurants and accommodations. After quite a search of vacation rentals and cottages throughout the country, I was so excited to find this cabin in Seydisfirdi. After making the long icy trek from Lake Myvatn, we were blown away by the descent into this eastern fjord. At least one person along our trip mentioned that this little artist community was one of their favorites in the country and it did not disappoint.

The cabins sit out by themselves on the hillside beyond the edge of town. The owner was still building one of three or four places, but he has the whole area to himself. The view to the mountains and fjords is incredible, and looking back to the village and port absolutely beautiful. Of course, the wind whips, but as we experienced with all of the cabins we rented, the Icelandic people truly know how to build quality homes that keep you warm and cozy while the weather pelts itself outside.

The bungalow was one of the largest we stayed at with three bedrooms and a large open living area. The kitchen was very well stocked and everything was brand new. The hot tub was a great way to enjoy the evening winds and the privacy fence helped to provide some calmer air, as well as a shield from the other cabins. The bathroom did have a very fancy shower that was good fun to play in and provided some laughs along with the water massage. With the many hours of darkness, we did appreciate a tv option to snuggle in for a film, although we were unable to figure out the movie channels.

Although the owner was working/staying at the first cabin while building, he was very professional, quick to get us moved in and discreet.

As some of you might be aware, finding open restaurants or places to eat in Iceland off season can be difficult. We were happily surprised to find a lovely pizza place in town that had a great atmosphere, on site art gallery and some delicious holiday brew. We had many days on our trip where we saw almost no people, so an occasional social evening out was super fun!

If you venture this far east, bypass Egillstadir except to fuel up and buy supplies, and head straight to the fjords. Absolutely loved this cottage, as well as all of the other ones we rented in the two week journey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonfish318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Basically clean, cozy cabin. 3 little bedrooms but only one of them had a double bed! The other ones had only twin beds (in two levels!). The bathroom had a really high-tech shower closet with tens of buttons but it had also HOT water so never mind the high-tech. The kitchen was ok, but it lacked all sorts of basic stuff what you'd expect it to have "on the house", like some coffee, milk, etc. Also not any other spices than salt & pepper. So if you want to cook smth for yourself over there, be prepared and bring everything you need with you! Also the frying pans, etc. were very old and vary, so you can't really cook anything too complicated..
The hot tub at the terrace was awesome and it was all ready when we got there! A high-tech model this one, too. With bubbles, colored lights and adjustable water temperature. The water in the hot tub smelled very heavily of chloride, though. But overall it was a nice value for your money for being inexpensive. NOTE: only cash payment was accepted! Nice choice if you want to stay in Seydisfjördur.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizarreGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This delightful stay came as a big and hugely pleasant surprise. Trust me when I say the pictures you see do not do full justice to the place. The location is aamazing if you want to spend some time in a relaxing "time with yourself" environment. It is situated about 2 knms off the little town of Seydisfjordour, which gives it just enough distance to be remote but close enough to have access to a supermarket, restaurant, bar and civilization. The hot tub is gorgeously placed in the patio with a cler view of the water body and snowy mountains... Its as closeto paradise as you can get. Go for it if you want to spend time with Family, friends or even just a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SShinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights between the 17th & 19th September. We arrived when the road to Seydisfirdi was covered in snow and for an inexperienced driver (in snow conditions) like me and after having driven all the way from Myvatn in snow covered roads in at times near blizzard conditions I was both anxious and tired out by the time we arrived at the cabin. We arrived in the mid afternoon and called up the owner who drove over in less than five minutes. He showed us the works and wished us a pleasant stay. Although I had high hopes for the place I was very much pleasantly surprised. It is not an exaggeration saying this very spacious cabin (sleeps 6 in three bedrooms) is of five star quality. It had everything one would need, from crockery to food bags to a radio/DVD/mp3 player, it was very warm (the temperature was between 5 and 0 C) having around 7 heating elements. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. A very well maintained cabin - first class. Of course the hot tub outside on the deck proved to be the highlight of the stay as well as the poor Borealis show we had on our second night. The location is remote and in bad weather conditions may be somewhat demanding to get to (we come from Malta no high passes covered in snow there) but the tranquility if the place more than makes up for it. The small village is close to a ghost town if not for the ferry boat that docks there. I would STRONGLY recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night and wish it had been more. This was the best place of any we stayed in ten days of travelling Iceland. All very new, modern, spacious, super clean and comfortable. The cottage was extremely well equipped and comfortable- it is a bit out of town, but has a great view of the fjord and is simply enchanting at night. There is a great hot tub on the equally inviting deck. It has been extremely well thought out (it is only a year or so old) - anything that you happened to need while on a travel trip seemed to be there! The owner was pleasant and prompt. Would love to return on a subsequent trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seydisfjordur
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
279 reviews
24.6 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
250 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
348 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seydisfjordur Hostel Hafaldan
Seydisfjordur Hostel Hafaldan
#1 of 8 in Seydisfjordur
166 reviews
11.7 mi away
Birta Guesthouse
Birta Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Egilsstadir
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langahlid Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langahlid Cottages

Address: Langahlid, 710, Seydisfjordur 710, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Seydisfjordur
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Seydisfjordur
Price Range: $237 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langahlid is set in the stunning fSeydisfjordur fiord. just a couple of km from the town center. it is the only accommodation set along the left side of the fiord and offers unique views on 360degrees. langahlid has 3 cottages, each of 53m2 with a lare balcony. every cottage can guests up to 6 people because there are 3 bedrooms (on with double bed and 2 with bunk beds), a big kitchen with oven, microwave ove, kettle, toaster, coffee machine etc, a bathroom with shower and a big 20m2 terrace with table and chairs to enjoy the view, bbq and hot tub to relax 365days per year! it does't matter if is snowing or is the sunniest day ever your hot tub looking the fiord will make your stay here unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Langahlid Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing