We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Herring House
Nearby Hotels
Siglunes Guesthouse(Siglufjordur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siglo Hotel(Siglufjordur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soffia's House(Siglufjordur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
130
11
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
11
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherringamazing hostsone nightfull kitchenring roadplace to staypost officerestaurants and barsbedroom apartmentshort walkshared kitchenwell equipped kitchenthe main streetother guestssmall townnorthern lightsnice view
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 142 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I don't want to make this overlong, so here's why we had an amazing time:

- It IS uphill, granted, but we found out the walking distance from the house to the centre of the town was minimal, and the views from our windows were amazing! We could see the church (Siglufjarðarkirkja) and the fjord the window! I look at my photos now and have a hard time believing I took such amazing pics from our window. Oh, and if you walk a bit further uphill, the views of the town and the fjord are to die for. So, for us, the location was an absolute PLUS.

- Þórir, the owner, made everything in his power to make our stay pleasant. There is no internet, it's not advertised. But when I asked, just to make sure, if there was WiFi, instead of simply saying "No, there isn't", he convinced the neighbour to let us use his WiFi network! When we opted not to have breakfast with him and his wife (because they were in another house and, frankly, with no sunlight until around 11 because it was December, who wants to have breakfast early?), he surprised us by bringing us bread, jams, yoghurt, juice! When the Herring Era Museum was closed (it was between Christmas and New Year's), he got the owner to let us in one night, and we had the museum all for ourselves, for free! And he also got us in the Folk Music Centre that same night, with a guided tour of the place, for just the normal entry price! Plus he invited us for coffee and snacks with him and his wife. Oh, and there was a gift for us when we arrived, because we had been the first ones to book in that building!

There, I kept it short and concise: the place is absolutely worth it thanks to the location, the views, and the amazing owner.

And if you're not sure about visiting in Winter, I can tell you that Sigló is beautiful at that time. In fact, it was with images of the snowy fjord I had fallen in love with originally.

Room Tip: Our room, with the amazing views, was on the street-level floor, and it was in the south-east corner of the house.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadeo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorir T, Owner at The Herring House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for visiting us at The Herring House. It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest during the Christmas week. We really enjoyed your company. Erla & Thorir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a really nice B and B in Siglufjordur. It sits above town, but is easily walkable. Our room was spotless, bed comfy and breakfast delicious. Thorir is a great host and thanks to his phone call, we had The Herring Museum (really interesting and very worth visiting) opened up just for us!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mei2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorir T, Owner at The Herring House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much! And thank you for comming to The Herring House on your vacation in Iceland. See you soon. Thorir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the herring house for two nights. The house is neat and well located. The owners are very helpful and we thank them very much for all their help. Siglufjörður is a beautiful town and we recommend staying in the Herring house in order to make a good trip even better!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hörður G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorirThorisson, Owner at The Herring House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for comming to us - Thorir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice house/guesthouse. We stayed at the Herring house for the weekend - the house has beautiful surroundings, nice rooms with good beds, clean, comfortable and with all equip. The owners did everything to help us organizing our program at Siglufjörður. We will be back.

Frábært gistihús - Herring-hús. Allt til alls, falleg staðsetning og yndislegt að vera.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun1093088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorir T, Owner at The Herring House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013
Google Translation

Thank you for visiting us at The Herring House Guðrún - Bestu þakkir fyrir komuna Guðrún, sjáumst vonandi aftur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled as 4 friends staying in the Herring house over the weekend. I must say the Herring House was one of the best places we stayed in during our travels. Everything was clean, very comfortable and the hosts were extremely helpful. I recommend having breakfast as a good start for your day full of trips (where we were served also some Icelandic specials).
The house is situated on the hilltop giving you a great view at the scenery. In addition, it has a small terrace in front of it where you can chill.
Siglufjordur is THE place to visit in the northern Iceland - and the Herring House is undoubtedly one of the best choices for accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorirThorisson, Owner at The Herring House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you in Siglufjörður soon. Thorir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews