We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and friendly restaurant”
Review of Tapas Barinn

Tapas Barinn
Ranked #37 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: TapasBarinn is an extremely lively restaurant where Spanish tapas tradition meets the freshest Icelandic ingredients. It is located in a cellar at Vesturgata 3 in Reykjavik's central. The menu at TapasBarinn offers over 50 different meat, fish and vegetable dishes so you can take your time and experiment various flavour combinations. A must try is the Icelandic gourmet feast which is a great way to taste the best of Icelandic produce in one meal. The restaurant has been open since the year 2000 and has become a local favourite. It has the only kitchen in Reykjavík that is open 23:30 on weekdays and 01:00 on weekends. The breezy atmosphere and the Spanish effects in the decorations make TapasBarinn ideal for an enjoyable evening, a true ray of sunshine in downtown Reykjavík.
Moordrecht
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good and friendly restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Two years ago we also ate here and not a lot has changed, the same good service, great food and friendly waiters. When we come back to Iceland we certainly will eat here again. The dishes come when they are ready, so nothing gets cold. You don't have to wait very long for the dishes. The portions are good size.The food is served with free water an bread. Very good quality for it's price. A lot of restaurants. in Reykjavik are a more expensive and the same quality or worse.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    455
    101
    43
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Amboy, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best I've ever had”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I can't even begin to describe the meal that I and 8 friends had here. I had the deluxe meal with all of the delicacies that Iceland has to offer barring the Shark meat.... The food was simply the best I've ever had.

The wait staff was nice, friendly and helpful. After our meal the restaurant closed and we spent time with the chefs, very nice people and great at their craft and appreciative of our praise.

When I go back Iceland a special trip directly to this restaurant is necessary.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must while you are in Reykjavik”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went for the Icelandic tapas and it was a brilliant way to sample the local food, including puffin and minky whale. Actually we could have shared the food there was so much on every plate. We went quite early but it was still very busy so we were lucky to get a table without booking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dizlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unique food, affordable price”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Delicious Icelandic cousin. Lovely place, kind staff, great view. I would recommend it. We tried puffin and whale and meatballs. Fun night out for couples and for families even with children.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana020384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real taste of Iceland - with a twist”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

What a great restaurant!
We ate here after reading reviews and it is a popular choice - although it was a Monday before Christmas we still had to wait for a table, although with a cocktail at the bar this wasn't a problem!

Our waiter was helpful, fun and friendly. We opted for the Icelandic feast menu with a couple of extra dishes - we ordered more but our waiter advised us we had enough and the come back for more after if he was wrong - he wasn't!!

The food came out quickly and nicely presented a few dishes at a time, all of them were well cooked and delicious.

There are some unusual (to the English pallette!) traditional dishes in Iceland and this is a great place to try them in small portions - the Icelandic Feast menu features puffin, whale and lobster as well as more recognisable dishes of lamb and trout, we also added the horse dish - highly recommended!!

It really is worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank kate_bindotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Barinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tapas Barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing