We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tapas delight”
Review of Tapas Barinn

Tapas Barinn
Ranked #36 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Mediterranean, Spanish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: TapasBarinn is an extremely lively restaurant where Spanish tapas tradition meets the freshest Icelandic ingredients. It is located in a cellar at Vesturgata 3 in Reykjavik's central. The menu at TapasBarinn offers over 50 different meat, fish and vegetable dishes so you can take your time and experiment various flavour combinations. A must try is the Icelandic gourmet feast which is a great way to taste the best of Icelandic produce in one meal. The restaurant has been open since the year 2000 and has become a local favourite. It has the only kitchen in Reykjavík that is open 23:30 on weekdays and 01:00 on weekends. The breezy atmosphere and the Spanish effects in the decorations make TapasBarinn ideal for an enjoyable evening, a true ray of sunshine in downtown Reykjavík.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tapas delight”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

As I was set to go on the Northern Lights tour in the evening, I wanted a quick bite in the early evening.

Like many before us, my travel companion and I shared the Icelandic feasting menu, complete with Puffin, Lobster tails and Minka whale. The staff were very friendly and helpful, having a good grasp of the menu. We also added a couple items. Dishes came out in tapas like form and the two of us were positively surprised with the quality of the dishes. We defiantly ate our fill.

My one criticism was that the lighting was a little too dark. The dishes looked good, but it was sometimes a struggle to see them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    449
    100
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
487 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We read about this place in the Icelandair magazine and was also recommended by one of our tour guides. We went early, about 5pm. Adam greeted us and took us to a table. I explained to him that I was gluten free and let him pick out menu items for me. My husband asked him to pick out a beer and Adam said if he didn't like it, he didn't have to pay for it! Tapas come out individually as they are ready, so you can eat very leisurely. Each one had its own taste and all were delightful! We tried Puffin, Whale, Horse, Fish, Hummus, and many more. We had others waiting on us as the staff came in for the night, so didn't realize Adam wasn't really our waiter...we asked him to return to ask him a few questions about the meal & he gladly came by and also helped another couple we had met on a tour who came in for dinner as well! It was a very enjoyable night! Then we walked a little over a mile back to our hotel, a nice stroll after a big, delicious meal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stopped for a beer, stayed for dinner”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Late afternoon in Reykjavik and we were looking to warm up and have a beer. We were given a great corner table at Tapas Barinn.

If you order three tapas, you get a free order of the bread with humus and tapenade. We didn't expect to stay so long, so we just started with that and a couple beers. Since the atmosphere was relaxing and the beers were tasty, our ability to get up and leave was soon compromised. After ordering several other tapas which we opted to call "dinner," staff brought us yet another bread with humus and tapenade - presumably our free one. We didn't need it, but oh well.

By the time we left, the place was lively with a lot of locals. A delicious place to pass the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Loves-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smoke me a puffin.......”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Iceland is very expensive, even by European capital city standards. We wanted to try a few Icelandic dishes, tapas is a great way to do this in one night. The service was attentive and the dishes arrive quite quickly, there's no waiting about here. All of them were well presented, all cooked very well. fish is easy to ruin by over cooking, not here though, despite being very busy all we're cooked perfectly.
The staff are very friendly, but not intrusive. It's a great atmosphere, we were with friends they loved it. It's quite dark inside,candle lit which makes it quite a romantic venue. It gets busy quickly, even out of season, so you may need to book.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steveandgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphare”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went for chef's choice and had 6 wonderful treasts of meat and fish - the highlight was the lobster in garlic, which was just magnificent and lamb were surpricingly good. The personal were very friendly and helpful. The dishes came very rapidly (perhaps even a bit too fast).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SHylby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Barinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tapas Barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing