We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tapas Barinn

Tapas Barinn
Ranked #34 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Mediterranean, Spanish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: Tapasbarinn is an extremely lively restaurant where Spanish tapas tradition meets the freshest Icelandic ingredients. It is located in a cellar at Vesturgata 3 in Reykjavik's central. The menu at Tapasbarinn offers over 50 different meet, fish and vegetable dishes so you can take your time and experiment various flavour combinations. A must try is the Icelandic gourmet feast which is a great way to taste the best of Icelandic produce in one meal. The restaurant has been open since the year 2000 and has become a popular place with the Icelandic crowd. It has the only kitchen in Reykjavík that is open 23:30 on weekdays and 01:00 on weekends. The breezy atmosphere and the Spanish effects in the decorations make Tapasbarinn ideal for an enjoyable evening, a true ray of sunshine in downtown Reykjavík.
Llanellen, Abergavenny
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

nice choice of tapas, tried the icelandic platter with lobster, puffin, minky whale etc, all very good quality and overall a good size of portion for the money, and good quality. gets very busy so make a reservation

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Huw D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    435
    97
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Where the locals go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was on our list when my husband and I visited Iceland, and all of the locals we asked about a good place to eat for a decent price suggested going here! This was one of our favorite places we ate at! You get little plates that you can order to come out one at a time so you don't have a table full of food in front of you.....very nice! The atmosphere makes it seem like you're in a wine cellar without the wine on the walls, but not cold at all. You get excellent food for the money! It is centrally located right in the city center. The menu is very large, but the wait staff is really helpful with narrowing down what to get. You can get the traditional Icelandic foods or not and its all delicious! The get quite busy, but are open pretty late so you should not have too much trouble getting a table without reservations! Highly recommend going!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelOwl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Icelandic tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a brilliant, welcoming atmospheric restaurant.

Every single dish was prepared perfectly (and we tried a dozen). From the bread to the scallops, everything was a taste sensation.

Busy, even on a Thursday night, the restaurant is obviously a firm favorite to locals and tourists alike.

Great service and and value for money, I cannot find a single fault. 100% satisfaction!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good place to try icelandic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went here to try Icelandic food in a small quantity just in case we did not like it. My husband ordered the icelandic gourmet feast which gives you some of the dishes everyone wants to try like whale, puffin and lamb, also small little lobster tails and two types of fish (which were both very good and I don't usually like seafood), you get a shot of brennevin which is fun to try and the skyr dessert was probably the best thing of the entire meal! I also ordered foal and duck as separate tapas. They bring the tapas out over time so you have time to enjoy each before the next arrives. For all that and two drinks it was about $80. It seems expensive but the feast is cheaper than buying all the tapas separately plus you get the shot and dessert. It is quite a bit of food and the two of us did not finish every single one. I probably would not go here for a regular meal but for the icelandic food I think it is worth it. The service is very good. We went early, around 6 pm because they are often quite busy later into the night but there were many tables available at 6 pm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank biology44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

there was a food festival on when we visited this restaurant and we chose the the set menu. We were not disappointed with the food it was absolutely fantastic .The service was excellent too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Barinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tapas Barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing