We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere,good music,small dishes,and fairly expensive.ok for groups” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tapas Barinn

Tapas Barinn
Ranked #35 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Mediterranean, Spanish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: Tapasbarinn is an extremely lively restaurant where Spanish tapas tradition meets the freshest Icelandic ingredients. It is located in a cellar at Vesturgata 3 in Reykjavik's central. The menu at Tapasbarinn offers over 50 different meet, fish and vegetable dishes so you can take your time and experiment various flavour combinations. A must try is the Icelandic gourmet feast which is a great way to taste the best of Icelandic produce in one meal. The restaurant has been open since the year 2000 and has become a popular place with the Icelandic crowd. It has the only kitchen in Reykjavík that is open 23:30 on weekdays and 01:00 on weekends. The breezy atmosphere and the Spanish effects in the decorations make Tapasbarinn ideal for an enjoyable evening, a true ray of sunshine in downtown Reykjavík.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good atmosphere,good music,small dishes,and fairly expensive.ok for groups”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Good atmosphere,good music,small dishes,and fairly expensive.ok for groups

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jabari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    435
    97
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Tapas!!! Open until late”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We were having a difficult time trying to find a decent place that was still open past 11 at night when we found this Tapas bar..
Going in without much expectation we were pleasantly surprised - wide selection of tapas especially on the seafood - the garlic baked lobsters were brilliant we had to ask for another serving.. Thought they were great values as well which was a plus when you are in a relatively expensive city like Reykjavik.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank svalbarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We ate here on our last night in Reykjavik- it was a toss-up between going to the Fish Company again or trying somewhere new. We had tried to get a table on a Friday night by turning up without a reservation but was politely told they were fully booked, so we reserved a table for the Monday night instead.

We both had the Iceland tapas menu, which was 6 courses of traditional Icelandic food- puffin, lobster, monk fish, lamb, minke whale and trout.

It was delicious, with each portion being small but perfectly formed, so that you had enough room to fit in all 6 courses, but felt full at the end. The tapenade with the bread was delicious as well.

The rich chocolate cake dessert was to die for, with a brownie-like consistency and a delicious fruit compote to take the edge off the sweetness.

Definitely good value for money!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daveandfran96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty freakin awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We didn't know what to expect, but we were definitely pleasantly suprised. It was kinda like eating at a dim sum place where you pick a bunch of stuff and it comes out in small portions 1 plate at a time. Be careful, at approx 900kr a pop it adds up fast. We had: puffin, kangaroo, lobster, shrimp, scallops, and the choc flourless cake. All fantastic. The bread was tasty. Beware, the green sauce is not pesto, it's olive. But the red sauslce was great. The place was packed with locals which is always a good sign. Loved it. Going back tonight!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the best casual dining experiences in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

There are so many reviews of “Tapas barinn“ http://tapas.is/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=69&msl=english that another detailed analysis would be superfluous. I‘ll keep this to a few general observations of what we consider to be the best up-market casual dining experience in Reykjavík.

We eat at “Tapas barinn“ every 2-3 months. Three of us were there on Thursday 24 March 2011 at 20:30 (8.30pm) – as always we had made a reservation, essential for early- and mid-evening dining, regardless of which day. Don‘t arrive expecting your table to be ready – on most occasions you‘ll wait at the bar for 10-20 minutes, but your reservation will get you seated ahead of walk-ins.

The place is always crowded, but with enough space that you are not on top of the next table; and it can be quite noisy – you will hear many different languages spoken.
Service can be a little erratic, but I‘d never describe it as poor; if you order a fixed meal (great value) there is a tendency for the courses to arrive too quickly – tell your waiter to slow the service. And, as others have observed, there seems to be a certain reluctance to bring the bill at the end of the evening. I often go and ask for it.

The menu ranges far and wide – individual tapas dishes; composite tapas menus; and more conventional main courses. Everything has a distinctly Icelandic twist and rarely disappoints. The wine list is short, but well chosen. Prices are moderate by Reykjavík standards.

Finally, “Tapas barinn“ is one of the latest kitchens in Reykjavík, closing at 23:30 during the week and at 01:00 Fridays and Saturdays.

Our dinner for three with Tio Pepe aperitifs and three half litre carafes of house wine cost kr. 27.200 (USD 240) including tax; gratuities are not expected in Iceland.

As always, we‘ll be back in another 2-3 months!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrozenBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Barinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tapas Barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing