We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Reykjavik
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Reykjavik Sailors
from $80.00
More Info
from $73.00
More Info
from $165.00
More Info
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
185
59
21
6
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
185
59
21
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching tour minke whales northern lights tour sea sickness pills marine life great trip warm overalls white beaked dolphins top deck wind and rain great afternoon sea birds viewing area crew boats company minkes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 285 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

It was a wonderful and enchanting experience for the views and this being my first cruise. The provided gear to keep from being drenched or freezing was a life saver, I would reccomend some sort of eye protection from either sun or wind/water blowing in your eyes. The chances of seeing a whale are a coin toss because they cannot control the movements of a whale, but I enjoyed my trip.

6  Thank Miah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Dear Miah C,

Thanks for rating us.

It is nice to hear that you had a wonderful trip and also the good tips you are giving to the future passengers, and of course, we wish whales were more friendly sometimes, but we cannot force them.

On the other hand, we wish you enjoyed your visit to Iceland.

Best regards,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

1st one was a random event as my flight out was delayed by a volcano and happened to have dinner with a guy who worked on a fast boat and he invited me out. Awesome! 2nd one felt like a waste of time. I'd offered my nephew a number of Iceland adventure options we could do on his layover while he was headed to Berlin. He chose whales & puffins. I saw part of one whale. Puffins were in the distance. To me it was a waste of time but for him he was seeing something new. The rest of our time together was a lot of fun.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank billfeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Dear billfeeny,

Thanks for spend a bit of your time leaving us a review.

We wish all the wales could jump and make really great exhibitions as they make in the aquariums, but of course, this is a wildlife adventure and all the animals live free in the ocean, so, we cannot force them to make things that we want, as we also try to don't interrupt their daily routines, letting them being themselves.

Anyway, we hope you had a good time on board and liked the country in general.

Best regards,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

It's relaxing and we did see some porpoises, they are wild animals and don't just magically appear so I really enjoyed it and if you like me scared of the ocean don't worry the boat is a good size so it makes it less traumatic haha

1  Thank missbb1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Dear missbb1988,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review.

You are totally righ. All our trips are about nature and wild animals; for that reason, we will never be able to guarantee the sightings, but we always try to do all our best and at least, helping people to have a nice ride on board.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip, and also hope you liked all the country :)

Best regards,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

The original company cancelled and sent us out with another company on an already packed boat that started later and held up my day. Plus, we did not see anything.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2018

Dear Jeff K,

Thanks for review us.

We are a bit confused about that, as we don't know in which company were you in the beginning to be sent to us; also, our departures are quite sharp and they use to departure on time.

About the sightings, these tours are 100% pending on the nature and wildlife, so, is something that we never can control and we wish we could have the most beautiful sightings in each single tour, but of course, if there were no sightings on your tour you know you can come again for free, just let us know in advance.

Sorry again for your experience if it was with our company, we hope you had in general a nice staying in Iceland.

Best regards,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We did a Northern Lights tour with them, which is try to see the Lights by boat. They had a great selection of food, and also had full rain slickers for us to wear if we wanted. The weather turned bad, 40 miles an hour wind, and so we came in earlier than the 4 hours we were supposed to. However, their policy is that if you don't see what you are looking for, as it is nature, then you can come back any time to try again, no expiration date. Now that's customer service.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank raininroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2018

Dear raininroses,

Thanks for rating us.

You are totally right, forecast sometimes tricks us and we are happy to know that despite the weather turned bad (in this country changes quite easily) you had a nice time with us.
You know you can come again for free when you want, just send us an email in advance, with your booking reference number and we will be able to reschedule your booking for another date.

We hope you had a nice staying in Iceland and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

All the best,
Reykjavik Sailors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews