We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Reykjavik
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Reykjavik Sailors
from $80.00
More Info
from $73.00
More Info
from $165.00
More Info
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
185
59
21
6
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
185
59
21
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching tour minke whales northern lights tour sea sickness pills marine life great trip warm overalls white beaked dolphins top deck wind and rain great afternoon sea birds viewing area crew boats company minkes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 285 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2018

This was a super boat tour – well organized, informative, and friendly. We were fortunate to see quite a few Minke whales, as well as dolphins that came right up to the boat. The only challenge we had was finding where the boats were docked – signage for the company was limited at the harbor.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank heleneric2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Dear heleneric2015,

Thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers.

We are glad to hear that you had a super whale watching trip and the sightings were very nice.
About the signage you are totally right, the only thing is that they are making some constructions around and sometimes somebody removes the signals, but nowadays with Google Maps we arrive almost everywhere ;)

We hope you had a great time in Iceland as well.

All the best,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We took the 2pm cruise. There were probably close to 30 people on board. The crew were exceptional pleasant. We saw a large pod of dolphins and watched them for a while.... and several swan alongside our boat .... but we only had 1 quick whale sighting.

It was a calm ride both and in. The weather was overcast and a light rain ended before we departed. Even though disappointed the whales didn’t show for our trip, it was relaxing, met some interesting people, and thoroughly enjoyed.

1  Thank johncrnkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Office at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Dear friend,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.

We are happy to know that you finally enjoyed the trip even if the whales were shy that time, at least dolphins and people made the tour better ;)

We hope that you had a nice time in Iceland.

All the best,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Very good crew. But very few bits of whale seen. Couldn't take advantage of future free trip that was offered. 50% refund might have been an alternative?

3  Thank Ronnie1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

Dear Ronnie1051,

Thanks for leave us your review.

As they are animals that live free in the ocean, we cannot control them to be longer with us, we wish they could come beside the ships at every moment, but of course, when sightings are very poor or there are no sightings, we give the option of coming back again for free. Anyway, is a pity that you couldn't come a second time.

On the other hand, you know that you have another reason to come back to Iceland (a free tour on the ship) and you are welcome again on board. Just let us know in advance!

Also, we hope you enjoyed your staying in Iceland.

Best regards,
Reykajvik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

You cannot compare the sight of whales breaching. This tour has a faster boat so more time to cuise the whale feeding grounds. they do not promse sightings. The day I went we saw a big hump backed and watched fo 10 15 minutes. Then a pair of minke. Also saw porpoises. Be pepared fo the cold. Whales are also very difficult to catch on camers. Take binoculars.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank TMS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

Dear TMS44,

Thanks for your review,

Is good to know that you had a quite complete tour, just missing the white-beaked dolphins :)
Yes, you are totally right, definitely here is always cold, even in summer time.

Anyway, we hope you enjoyed your time in Iceland!

Best regards,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

My sister I booked an afternoon whale watching trip with Reykjavik Sailors through viator for our trip to Iceland at the end of July. We knew we wanted to go whale watching, and these guys looked a little less slick than some of the other opperations, while still being big enough to provide a great experience - and have some informative reviews.

Im so glad we booked this! We had a fantastic time whale watching with Reykjavik Sailors. Part of that was luck - two humpbacks and minke whales sighted! Very close to the boat once or twice, and the weather was surprisingly good. We also got to see puffins on the water up close, which was fun! So, lucky! That said, Julia was brilliant at spotting and pointing out the whales. She was funny, entertaining, and very educational. She obviously enjoys her job, and her enthusiasm was infectious. I'm sure it's probably easy to get burnt out doing the same job day after day for tourists, but I never got that impression from her. Ot was clear that she loved her job. We were a bit tired by the time we got on the boat, but her energy and excitement got is out on the deck, and I'm so glad it did! Seeing the whales was amazing.

The lady working the office was very nice, she gave us sea sickness pills - no idea if they worked, but I imagine we would've noticed if they hadn't. They had our names on a list - we didn't even need the booking confirmation I'd printed. The boat was right on time both leaving and coming back. The wifi worked great, the waterproof overalls were definitely appreciated - they're a little smelly, but put them on! Several people got drenched because they decided not to follow the guide's advice. The boat was the perfect size to allow you to move around while still being close to the water, and the option to go inside and dry off on the rides in and out was very much appreciated.

Overall, this was a fantastic experience, and I can't recommend them enough!

4  Thank Dare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Dear Dare S,

Thank you very much for such a great review :)

We are glad to hear that you had an amazing experience with us, we also let the crew know your nice words and your trip's opinion. It is really enjoyable when we have passengers on board that like our work, and we love to share to people that sensation.

Anyway, we hope you enjoyed Iceland as much as on our boat.

Best regards,
Reykjavik Sailors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews