We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice restaurant”
Review of 3 Frakkar

3 Frakkar
Ranked #61 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $126
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We ate at this restaurant as a friend from Iceland recommended it. Unfortunately we had to move out reservation to 6pm from 8pm otherwise we would have missed the Northern lights tour ( which had been rescheduled from the original date) This meant that there was only one other couple in the restaurant so we didn't really get to sample the atmosphere. Food wise my starter of puffin was nice - unusual and with a pickle sauce. My husband's French Onion Soup was delicious. My husband had a steak - this was nice and I had a shark steak. This looks like an enormous sirloin and I did enjoy it - my brain was telling me it was like a steak. However by the end I realised that it did have a fishy taste. I enjoyed it but would probably not have it again. My husband's dessert was mousse and again was lovely. My Skyr brûlée was also lovely. The waitress was try nice and I am sure that in the evening when the restaurant is full there is a lovely atmosphere. I liked the decor - bistro style. I would recommend eating at this restaurant. My only negative is that the emails that I sent from the UK to book a table in advance were not answered. I had to get my tour operator to contact them in the end . I am not sure if the email address in the website is correct?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentishCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    292
    79
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A different Icelandic experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

As AA Gill listed this place as his favourite restaurant in the World we felt compelled to pay a visit whilst in Reykjavik.

It is a little out of the Centre but luckily was just round the corner from our hotel (Holt).

It is quite a small place with almost a French bistro feel.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. And so on to the food.

As you will have seen from the other reviews it serves an eclectic mix of Icelandic specialities including Minke Whale (not really morally supportable), horse, guillemot, and decomposed shark.

I opted for the smoked puffin breast to start - quite sushi like, very smoky with a liquorice after taste. Different and very good. My wife was equally pleased with her smoked mackerel and scrambled eggs.

Mains were delicious - mine a beautifully cooked piece of halibut with lobster & a lobster sauce - divine. Wife chose an Icelandic speciality of hashed fish (cod) in a cheese sauce served with black bread. Also fantastic if very heavy with the bread almost being a cake/pudding in flavour!.

The only negatives were that the drinks are expensive (as like all Iceland) and the Tom Collins I had costing over £10 I'm pretty sure contained no gin - if it did I couldn't taste it! Also the service was too fast for my liking - we were in and out within an hour and a quarter. However these do not detract from the main event of the food which was exceptional.

Thanks for the recommendation Mr Gill!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoonerPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A taste of Iceland”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant close to the Cathedral by our hotel, as somewhere we could try a variety of Icelandic dishes. Although the tasting platter wasn't on the menu, the Smoked Puffin starter was delicious, the mustard sauce proving a perfect accompaniment. The German couple next to us were not enjoying their fermented shark and let us try it - definitely an acquired taste. Our mains of Sirloin of Horse and Halibut with Lobster and Lobster Sauce were filling and well presented, but my wife's Seafood Gratin was overly salty, the sauce much too strong. Our ice cream and shared Skyr brulee desserts finished the meal well. Not cheap - about £110 without any alcohol for our three courses, but the atmosphere was quite homely and staff attentive to needs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExburyOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This place is wonderous.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have eaten things here that I have eaten more than once, here. You cannot get these things in other places, so, suffice it to say, you have to eat these things here. This restaurant is inherently Icelandic, and outstanding in every way. Such a lovely decor, and very authentic, Pro tip: go early, and take your time, and leave before the "rush". Get to know the places, and get to know the people. Everything on the menu is magnificent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nobodyhomenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Authentic and down to earth”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I got two recommendations to this restaurants plus a couple of friends who raved about it. And it`s really good! Had a tasting plate with whale, shark and puffin (felt a little guilty trying the last one though) - very tasty and fresh. I was early bird for dinner, but at around 7.30 it started filling up. Kinda a rustic decor-wize, but very sweet and homey. Staff is really nice and attentive. Would go again for sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flaatten79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Frakkar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to 3 Frakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing