We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual dishes, prompt service.”
Review of 3 Frakkar

3 Frakkar
Ranked #61 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $126
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unusual dishes, prompt service.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ate here as we were staying at Guesthouse Odinn - it's just down the street. Busy and prompt service. I had smoked puffin breast for entree and horse steak for main course. Puffin breast came as a gravlax style with bread, whilst the horse had pepper sauce. Both delicious. My partner had less luck with the seafood soup and the fish of the day, which was a mornay style. They were fine but involved rich sauces and the flavour was nothing out of the ordinary. Overall a good experience if a bit on the expensive end.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bresley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    294
    80
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Horses Steak was Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Recommended by locals, we ventured here. Food was delicious! We're told locals don't teat whale or Puffins, but love the horse steaks. Had the Black Death aperitif. Passed on the dirty shark and loved the horse meat.

Delightful!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank makarska1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little too "local" for our taste”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Let me say up front that this restaurant was recommended by our hotel manager. Just off the plane, it was our introduction to Icelandic food. While it offers the atmosphere of fine dining, and a reportedly well-known chef, perhaps Icelandic food isn't to our liking. Being adventurous, we ordered up the shark appetizer. Even dipping the diced bites into schnapps didn't help it go down easily. Fortunately the cheese bread was much better and got us off to a so-so start, I followed with the chef's specialty - minke whale. It sounded better than some of the other offerings - puffin, reindeer, or horse. Indeed, it was better than expected. Although a little chewy, the chef's pepper sauce was divine. With drinks, the bill was a bit too pricey for what we felt we got out of our adventure into local cuisine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank swingtowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Successful family eatery since 1989”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had an amazing meal here 7 years ago. I was pleasantly surprised that it was still up and running! Had another good meal there last night. Started with dried shark. Terrible but a must do! Then lovely dried minke whale. Yes, yes, I know! Puffin breast was next. All great meals, tasty , well presented. Not very cheap, price around E140 per person each with wine. No coffee or desert. Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Be adventurous!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

If you want to try whale, horse, seabirds, and of course local seafood, then this is a great place to do so.

It took a while to track this place down and were pleasantly surprised it was open late on a Sunday evening. Not too many diners were present but perhaps it was the time or the day. Anyway we enjoyed ourselves with the seafood soup, smoked puffin, catfish (which my friend believes is the local name for wolffish), and peppered whale steaks.

The food was certainly not cheap (but that is Iceland) but the servings were ample, and given the point is to eat something 'different', well worth the cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldbuggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Frakkar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to 3 Frakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing