We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing”
Review of 3 Frakkar

3 Frakkar
Ranked #59 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $126
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was recommended by a local artist. We had booked an early meal as we were advised it would be busy. It was not far from our hotel but otherwise it is very much off the beaten track. Very poor welcome - draughty table next to a doorway. The waitress gave us a menu, did not offer to help us in anyway with explanation of some of the dishes. My wife had herring started - there being no indication it was mostly uncooked on the menu. I had minke whale which was good. Main course was cold, vegetables so much a la dente that they were raw. We were so disappointed we did not order a sweet but had cold coffee. Then to crown matters the bill was wrong. The service was disastrously slow and the place was nearly empty. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    290
    78
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Make a resevation!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent food, good service, reasonable prices and a really nice place.
The only minus: They have whale on their menu and I´m against whaling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,131 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A little off the beaten path but accessible by walking. Ask for a table on the porch as the first room is somewhat crowded. Good lamb and seafood. We wish they didn't offer dishes of animals that are so beautiful to observe in the natural setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant with uniquely local menu”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had smoked puffin, whale sashimi, whale roasted, horse tenderloin, and cod bacalao - all excellent. Also hakarl to start (a very Icelandic item), which is fine when washed down with brennervin and which you only need to try once. Cozy ambiance and great service. Highly recommend the experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our driver for two days highly recommended this restaurant so our last night in town we gave it a try. Despite our driver making a reservation for us they looked at our party of six like we'd just come from the moon. Quick to capture the almighty dollar however they cleared out some locals, put together a table for six and off we went. The staff with one exception was friendly and helpful.
I had the local specialty, shark and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. When in Rome do like the Romans but once was enough. Everyone else had more standard fare and it was excellent. I ordered horse for the main course and it was fabulous. No kidding! everyone else order seafood and it was fresh with very large portions. A word to the wise, split a couple appetizers (not the shark) or you are going to leave a fair amount of food behind. Reasonable prices but you need a cab from most places.I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkGuy_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Frakkar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to 3 Frakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing