We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of 3 Frakkar

3 Frakkar
Ranked #59 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $126
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is small and cosey place with an excellent fish food.Me and my families did all get very good
food and I highly recommend this place some one of the best fish restaurant in Iceland.You will
get good atmosphere good service and excellent food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristjanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    290
    78
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little disappointed”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had heard great things about Prir Frakkar so had afternoon trip from Selfoss really to see town, visit cathedral and this restaurant. Knew it would be pricey for my budget but was prepared as read great reviews and wanted good meal. Firstly me and my son were first ones in restaurant and were sat by a fire escape door in conservatory where the wind whistled through and was very cold. This didnt get me off to a good start and killed any ambience there may have been. My starter of smoked puffin was good as was my sons mink whale and char. However the whale steak I had after was very disappointing. Cooked very nicely but soo salty and I think that was down to the peppercorn sauce not the whale??? Also whale is much more chewy than expected despite being cooked to perfection (rare). My sons horse tenderloin was absolutely excellent. Cooked rare again and melt in the mouth. Wish I had chosen that. Best steak ever eaten. Service was good just really annoyed with noise and cold from fire door - didnt warm up again for rest of night. Not to mention if there was a fire..............

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triphead89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It Came Recommended”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The cab driver had a little trouble finding this place, though it is near downtown Reykjavik. We (5 of us) didn't have reservations on a Friday night, but they found a spot for us anyway. The monkfish was wonderful, and I tried a little of the fin whale and puffin off other's plates. The shark was prepared in the traditional, very strong tasting, manner, and the waitress gave us a number of warnings about it. One of our part ordered it, and it was not for the faint of heart. A little pricey, but I felt the food was worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cosy, relaxed and traditional”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

small, quaint and cosey - it was recommended to me by my hotel receptionist who had previously worked there...

delicous food, slightly pricey but worth it. Serving a variety of traditional icelandic food - I had smoked minke whale to start - served cold with salmon (gravlax style) - very very good and i highly recommend. I followed this with a fish hash... erm, interesting!! very well seasoned - (try it before you add additional salt/pepper) - cheesey, and a little oily - very filling although couldnt really detect the fish for the other flavours... would be a good meal to reload on calories if youve been out galivanting all day!

Staff very friendly and table water and bread were served as standard.

a nice relaxed environment - youre fine in just jeans and t's :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank natalie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Real Icelandic flavors”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I dined at 3 Frakker after looking through reviews and the recommendation of several locals. This place is hard to find if you are on foot, but taxis are constantly going past the door. It's a small, cozy former home. We were seated in what was probably the living room. We started with the sampler plate. It was mostly good, but have to say, the fermented shark has to be an acquired taste. Tasted of ammonia. I had the fried cod chins. Very tasty. Prices reflected the upscale cuisine. Well worth the $$$. Wish we could've gone back for another meal.

Helpful?
Thank Linda1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Frakkar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to 3 Frakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing