We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique dishes, very good food and comfortable ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Frakkar

3 Frakkar
Ranked #54 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $126
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Unique dishes, very good food and comfortable ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a number of times through the years and I will keep coming back. The food there is consistently very good, but the real attraction is in the unique dishes they offer and the comfortable feel of both the place and the food. The dishes they offer include many types of seafood as well as meats, some of which are unusual, such as sea birds, horse and whale. But it is not just the ingredients that are unique - they also make the ordinary seafood very tasty while still making it feel non-fancy and comfortable. For example, their gratins and cream sauces are very good.
When I went there last time, I decided to have a meat night. I started with the smoked puffin, which is very good. It was served in thin strips with mustard sauce and the distinct flavor of the puffin meat, the smokey enhancement and the subtle mustard sauce worked very well. For main course, I had the Guillemot and it was spectacularly good. It was cooked absolutely perfectly - quite rare - and was tender and tasty. The sauce complemented it very well. For desert, I had the Skyr Brulee, which was good, but they can do better with it - for one, the sugar was not properly caramelized on top.
As noted, I will keep going there in the future as I have been doing for many years. I highly recommend this restaurant to tourists visiting Iceland as it gives a better insight into Icelandic food than many restaurants and it is very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    284
    75
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good recommendation from our guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We asked our guide to drop us off at a good local restaurant, and he chose this, rang and made us a reservation. It looks like a private house from the outside, and tables are set out in different rooms, making it very cosy. The menu was varied with several fish dishes as well as some meat dishes including horse steak, puffin and guillemot. Vegetarian options were limited. All our dishes were well prepared and flavoursome, and it was interesting trying out dishes we haven't tried before like whale, arctic char and guillemot in game sauce. The restaurant is popular with locals - always a good sign. The prices were reasonable by Icelandic standards.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bourdain nailed it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

went twice - same menu but lunch is cheaper... willing to cork our wine for modest fee - most Icelandic spots never heard of corkage. generous portions, well crafted - delightful. Yes they have the famous stuff, but in their hands even Puffin is palatable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kipaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place was worth a repeat visit..We had Arctic Char fixed they way you would a chili relleno and it was wonderful so much so we went back the next night knowing that when we return to Los Angeles we would not fine that fish anywhere! The staff was friendly and helpful and the crowd was playful and easy to be around while we feasted on our dinners. Sure would be a good idea to stop by when you are in Reykjavik!
Susie

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sburlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cozy spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food was very good but not the best I've ever had. I had a paice dish, a light fish I had twice in Iceland but had never had before. It's a delicious fish and was perfectly cooked. The sides were a little unsatisfying, just white rice (seasoned but not a pilaf) and a smidgin of veggie. What made me so happy about this restaurant was the charming homey feeling of the different tiny dining rooms and the cozy warm atmosphere. It seems to be a favorite neighborhood restaurant and was full of mostly locals. The neighborhood is lovely to walk in after dinner, just two blocks from the big cathedral. This restaurant was recommended by an Icelandair flight attendant and her husband we met in Reykjaviik.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Frakkar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to 3 Frakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing