We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Reykjavik
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from $79.33
More Info
from $134.00
More Info
from $45.73
More Info
from $112.00
More Info
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
201
30
12
5
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
201
30
12
5
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern lights tour hot chocolate small group the bus minibus tour solar activity icelandic songs excellent tour company naked eye first night wrap up warm small bus driver coach stories camera forecast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 262 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2019

Let's start with the fact that we were guaranteed (in writing) that the excursion would have 19 or fewer guests on a small bus and there were more than 60 people on a very large bus.

Our bus driver provided a lot of depressing facts as we drove out to the "spot", which was located on the side of a highway. There were several other large buses at the "spot", which made it feel super touristy.

It was clear after 15 minutes that we weren't going to see the Northern Lights (not an issue, we were aware that might be the case); however, we sat on the bus for nearly 2 hours waiting for the last couple of hopefuls to rejoin the group. We then waited another 30 minutes while our bus driver walked up and down the aisles with a thermos of hot chocolate and a Tupperware of biscuits to share with the large group.

This experience was miserable and I wouldn't recommend this tour to anyone. We had so many other amazing excursions that were much more enjoyable (south coast waterfalls and glacier hike, blue lagoon, secret lagoon, golden circle).

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank JRuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M, Manager at Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We are really sad to know that your experience wasn't the one you were expecting. We always try to give ur costumers the best experience possible and every time we provide our tour is based on a specialized forecast so we can collect all the conditions for our guests to see this so-known Nature Show.
However, everything will depend on Nature to have a successful tour, and on that, if our guests don't see the Northern Lights during their tour we always offer to reschedule free of charge until they have a successful tour (up to 2 years validity on the booking voucher!).
Besides that, we have 2 tours, one on a BigBus up to 53 passengers and a miniBus with a smaller group maximum of 19 passengers. Being this last one the most expensive one, if we provide a change on our guests' booking is always an upgrade and never a downgrade, so in your case, i can only assume that there was some missed information and we are really sorry that wasn't clearer enough.

Best Regards
TRIPS
Powered by Skybus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Unfair business for unpredictable and rare event

I fully understand that auroras are a natural event and that tourism is a business but you cannot make a business out of a statistically rare event in December in Reykjavik. I don’t think it is fair not to get the money back because I don’t have time to reschedule.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank GiovanniLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M, Manager at Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We are really sorry to read such a downgraded experience/review.
Unfortunately, from the point you participate in one of our tours we can't provide a refund because of all the logistics behind.
As you know, Northern Lights are a Natural phenomenon that can only be predicted and impossible to be assured and with that we do our best to predict it and collect all the necessary conditions to have a successful tour but Nature's unpredictability also pays along with us.
As you participated on our tour, even if unsuccessfully, you have to have in mind that Our Best doesn't always mean that you are able to see the Northern Lights, however, if unsuccessful, we always give you the chance to join us again free of charge until you have a successful tour (up to 2 years validity on your voucher).
Please understand.

Best Regards
TRIPS
Powered by Skybus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Let me say it upfront that although we didn’t get to see the lights due to weather conditions, our tour guide was extremely helpful and did his best for 4 hours to locate them. It is inherently difficult and unpredictable to be able to see the northern lights. It is partly due to luck. But I would definitely recommend this tour.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Camis698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M, Manager at Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review!
Really happy to know you had a great time with us even if unsuccessful for the Northern Lights!

Best Regards
TRIPS
Powered by Skybus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

If you want to see the northern lights, worth booking with these people. It's a small group, around 16 people. They try their best to find the northern lights and if you dont see, you can book again for free. Make sure you book this tour on your first night in iceland. Unfortunately we didnt see them on our first night even though the forecast said it was pretty good. The next available time we could go was 2 days later. We managed to see them then although it was very faint. The trip lasts around 4 hours. It is extremely cold outside during this time, so make sure your wrap up. I had full ski gear on and it was perfect.

Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M, Manager at Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Thank you s much for your review and for your appreciation on our effort to provide the best possible Northern Lights tour!

Best Regards
TRIPS
Skybus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019 via mobile

I loved the tour, enough time to walk and have a break. Loved the choice for the secret lagoon which was not overcrowded.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank LennyV179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews