We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Reykjavik
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from $134.00
More Info
from $45.73
More Info
from $40.22
More Info
from $84.85
More Info
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
230
318
166
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
230
318
166
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north america christopher columbus main church history books largest church big church photo opportunity beautiful church worth a visit icelandic history hallgrimskirkja explorer inscriptions viking tribute erected voyage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 720 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Directly in front of the Hallgrim Church stands this statue of Leif Eiriksson. It is a gift from the USA. Nice to look at and a great photo motif!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank IJA_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019

Situated right outside the Lutherian Church, this statue was a gift from the US to the people of Iceland. This is evident from the inscription behind the statue.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank WellTreadShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019

Each time I have been to Iceland, I made sure I visited his statue even if I don't go into Hallgrimskirkja Church each time as well. Its just a show of respect I feel obligated to do when I am in Reykjavik.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019

Leif Eiriksson is said to be the first European to reach in Vinland (which is part of North America; possibly Newfoundland). This one is just a nice statue erected in his memory.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank SmileyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019

Nothing special about the statue of Leif Eiriksson, the only point is, it is in front of the church what make the view special.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank 202ludmillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews