We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Try Iceland Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Try Iceland Tours
from $224.71
More Info
from $265.99
More Info
from $208.66
More Info
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
66
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
66
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super jeep private tour south coast weather conditions professional photographer northern lights tour reykjanes peninsula small group golden circle secret lagoon highlight of our trip amazing tour icelandic horses blue lagoon outdoorsman landmannalaugar sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

You will read many amazing reviews about Adam and his tours on this website – they are all true. He was charming, knowledgeable and accommodating. The Jeep was super comfortable and well equipped. The only advice I can give to any future traveler searching for tour operators is stop looking now, book with Try Iceland, and if need be organise your holiday around their tours – you will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank JoyW298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga K, Manager at Try Iceland Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Dear JoyW298,
Thank you for sharing with us your opinion.
That is very kind of you.
Warmest regards and please contact us again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

This was a perfect excursion! Adam is such an awesome tour guide. He’s knowledgeable and accommodating. He makes this tour go at your pace. We were super fortunate to have been the only two booked that day so we had a truly customized experience. He drove us several places to see the Golden Circle and it was stunning! The geysers were active when we visited too so that was so cool. He even stopped for us to pet the cute Icelandic horses. We took so many awesome pictures and videos.

Of course, Adam came equipped with all of the details to optimize our chance of seeing the Northern Lights and we did! We were ecstatic, all thanks to Adam’s efforts. He took some phenomenal pictures with his professional camera that he emails to you after your trip. What a fantastic keepsake! Definitely book this tour to increase your chances of seeing the Northern Lights. He’s an expert and he knows Iceland well. This was a five-star experience!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank T5493HFjessicaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga K, Manager at Try Iceland Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Hello,
Thank you for your five stars. We are much obliged to you.
Warm regards and hope to see you next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

We had a great experience with Adam seeing the golden circle! Totally worth it to book this tour vs a large tour bus. We were two sisters traveling together and felt very safe and had a great time on this tour. Adam was knowledgeable about Iceland and fun and friendly. We hope to visit again and would book again with Try Iceland!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 34bldast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga K, Manager at Try Iceland Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Hello,
Thank you very much for your high note. We are very grateful.
My best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

We Just finished a tour of the Golden Circle and The Northern Lights with Adam (Try Iceland Tours). Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate with us and we didn’t get to see the lights; however, Adam went above and beyond to be sure we had the time of our lives! Howe has the best time and highly recommend booking a tour with Adam. Absolutely amazing!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga K, Manager at Try Iceland Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Dear Heather,
Thank you very much for your positive opinion.
It is pity that you did not see Aurora but it is very unpredictable phenomenom. Good to hear that you had a nice time.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2018

Just awesome tours. Adam and Kinga were more than helpful in organizing and carrying out our tours.The experience that Adam has showed thru with modifying our dates and destinations according to the weather conditions. He went out of his way to accommodate to our wishes and would highly recommend his tours.
Next visit to Iceland would be with Adam as our guide.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Ragnar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga K, Manager at Try Iceland Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Dear Ragnar,
We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. That's great you liked us.
We'd be glad to serve you again.
Warmest regards for you and your family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2018

Don't hesitate to book a tour with this company. So glad I booked this tour for my husband and I because we saw the Northern Lights thanks to him and his vehicle and we have the best pictures to remember it with because he is a professional photographer and brought along his equipment. *smiles*

Communication was excellent and he picked us up as planned. Each tour is 6 persons max and our tour was fully booked with six people. A lovely family of four from Arkansas was with us and we became friends. When he heard we were Game of Thrones fans he made a stop at a filming site and we still had plenty of time to see everything else that was planned.

Our dinner stop was a lovely restaurant at the end of civilization (LOL) where they serve the best Lamb Soup ever! It comes with fresh bread and probably the very best thing I had to eat the entire trip! Still dreaming of that lamb soup! I believe it was $15 and very filling.

His vehicle can go where others can't and he knows how to HUNT for the lights! Yes it was a bumpy ride and although we saw a slight glimmer of the lights at one location he was determined to find better so we kept hunting and eventually landed at the most perfect spot near a lake where the reflection of the lights on the water made it so picturesque!

He brought along a thermos of hot water and offered us all coffee, tea, or hot chocolate while we waited. When the lights appeared and got stronger he took lots of photos of us in groups or alone and we were all smiling and jumping for joy to have experienced it.

The night before I had been on a tour with Greyline and we did not see the lights. I now understand that a bus or minibus simply cannot go to where the light pollution is low enough to see them if they aren't super strong and weather conditions perfect.

I understood that weather plays an important role and that mother nature doesn't always cooperate but your chances are going to be best with Adam because he's going to hunt where others can't go and he communicates with friends about where to best find them.

I told Adam when we return with our family I will be reserving his entire jeep for us to see the sights of Iceland and find the Northern Lights again. He is an experienced outdoorsman. He talked about his other tour offerings and I'm anxious to see more of Iceland with Adam as our guide.

You won't regret booking a trip with Adam at Try Iceland Tours! If your date is available on his calendar...don't hesitate!

P.S. my husband is usually a complainer....but on this tour he did not! He confirmed repeatedly this was the BEST part of our entire trip and was so happy I booked this small group tour with Adam. He did not enjoy the large group tour I had booked the previous day and even had we not seen the Lights he would have preferred the small group experience and personalization that comes with a small group tour like this.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga K, Manager at Try Iceland Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2018

Hello,
We have no words to express our gratitude for so great opinion.
We are very grateful for your valuable time to write so long and amazing review.
Thanks a million and my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews