We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location...Perfect Place!”
other travelers have booked this property
Hlidsnes Houses 1 and 2, from afar.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hlidsnes Houses 1 and 2, from afar.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Hlidsnes Houses 1 and 2, from afar.
Hlidsnes Houses 1 and 2 from south.
Hlidsnes House 1, kitchen.
Hlidsnes House 1, study/library/music room.
Hlidsnes House 1, living room.
Hlidsnes House 1, living room.
Hlidsnes House 1, master bedroom.
Hlidsnes House 1, bedroom.
Hlidsnes House 1, bedroom.
Hlidsnes House 1, bathroom.
Hlidsnes, Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights).
Hlidsnes, view to north, the President´s residence.
Hlidsnes, view to south to Mount Keilir.
Fálki, Gyrfalcon/Gyrfalcon.
Hettumávur / Blackheaded Gull / Common Blackheaded Gull.
Hrafn (Krummi) / Raven / Common Raven.
Hrossagaukur / Snipe / Common Snipe.
Kría / Arctic Tern / Arctic Tern.
Lóa / Golden Plover / Greater Golden Plover.
Margæs / Brent Goose / Brant.
Sandlóa / Ringed Plover / Common Ringed Plover.
Dílaskarfur / Cormorant / Great Cormorant.
Spói / Whimbre / Whimbrel.
Stari / Starling / European Starling.
Stelkur / Redshank / Common Redshank.
Álft (Svanur) / Whooper Swan / Whooper Swan.
Svartþröstur / Blackbird / Common Blackbird.
Oystercatcher / Eurasian Oystercatcher.
Æðarfulg / Eider / Common Eider.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Sylvia S
Alzey, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location...Perfect Place!”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Hlidsnes Holiday Home 1 has to be the best accommodations I have ever stayed at. From the moment we walked in the door, it felt like coming home. Everything you could possibly need is available to you. The owner Thor was so sweet and helpful, any question you may have, he had the answer. Now the location...WOW, since we were there in December there wasn't much daylight, but that didn't deviate from the spectacular view all the way around the house. The lights from the city just sparkled and twinkled all night long! Take my word, if you can find an available reservation...grab it!! You won't be disappointed one bit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leannehar...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a brilliant house and a great place to stay. We're already planning a return trip next year. The pictures do not do this place justice, it is fabulous, so clean, well equip and very warm and cosy. The owner Thor is so lovely too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House
Liked least: n/a loved it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in quiet location”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful house. Spacious. Lots of room for the extended family. Quiet area in a rural setting, but still only a 20 min. drive to the center of Reykjavik. We thouroughly enjoyed our time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The library (lots of books) and the main room with comfortable furniture and great views.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
Thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermontfe...
vermont usa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The house was spacious, clean, and neat and featured a great kitchen and fabulous library. Not that we didn't have reading with us-but any Air BnB that has literature ranging from Donna Leone to the complete works of Lenin, sprinkled with Bertrand Russell and some Icelandic Sagas on the shelf is interesting! Great bird watching and lovely scenery to enjoy on a walk around the property. A very tranquil, but convenient (to both the airport and downtown) location. And the host was so gracious he even drove out to guide us to the house when, exhausted by a long day driving the road to Landmannalauger and unable to read the road signs in the dark, we got disoriented (but nothing to worry about - the next day in good light and well rested after a quiet night, we found our way easily into town and back out again!). Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you Jennifer.
We are glad you enjoyed the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide...
2 reviews
“The Best Place on Earth!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This guest house was simply the best accommodations we have ever had in visits to over 25 countries in the World. The proprietor, Thor, went above and beyond to ensure we had a spectacular stay. He greeted us with a smile and left cookies, coffee, and tea for us. The home is well stocked with everything you could possibly need. We wanted for nothing. Great WiFi and cable TV if you need these things. Hot tub is awesome! Easy drive to town. 5 minutes from a wonderful local geyser swimming pool. The location is beyond words. Living on our private peninsula with 360 degree views of mountains, volcanoes, the ocean, bird life, wild life, marina and the entire city or Reykjavik was simply breathtaking. It doesn't get any better than this. Coming home to this house after a day of sightseeing in Iceland was comforting and exciting - it made the trip the most memorable we have had. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular views, great TV and WiFi, comfortable beds, well stocked home, hot tub!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Thank you for this nice review. i am glad you enjoyed the stay.
Thor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnamona...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“A wonderful, comfortable house perfectly situated outside the city.”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This house is great. Not only is it very comfortable, it's set on a tiny peninsula with only a few other houses surrounded by water. There are great views of Reykjavik and some other towns across the water. The beach along the road was nice to walk along and watch the many types of birds come and go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hlidsnes Holiday House. It is a nice quiet rural location, perfect for watching the Northern Lights. Saves booking a tour! The house was cozy and accommodated our family very well. Everything worked well. You definitely need a car to base out of this location, but access is very easy to all major roadways.

I highly recommend the Hlidsnes Holiday House.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
Thank you Chris B.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing