We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in happening spot”

Geysir Bistro Reykjavik
Ranked #66 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: Would you like to take time from their everyday routine, sit down in a cozy environment, watch the bustling life itself, rushing in and enjoy the restaurants and services. Bistro is located in the center of the Vortex in the heart of Reykjavik. Bistro is offered a varied menu with an emphasis on the Icelandic specialties mixed with dishes with an international twist. We pride ourselves on freshness, variety and professionalism. We use fresh Icelandic ingredients in all our dishes. Whether the desire is delicious meal for lunch or a cozy evening in a small or large group offers Bistro welcomes you in a comfortable and homey atmosphere.
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great lunch in happening spot”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nice spot overlooking central tourist zone. A good place to stop and grab a quick bite while watching the action. Fresh ingredients and perky service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    395
    90
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbolton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and (for Reykjavik) not to Pricey”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Was taken here on our first night by tour guide and had a nice meal. on retrning from tour spent a few days in Reykjavikand returned for dinner and brunch. This restaurant is reasonably priced , for Iceland, and offered a reasonable selection of non fishy food (hard to find in iveland, as well as all the usual icelandic specialties like minke whale and salt cod. Of our group all were impressed with thier choices and the chips being served in 'newspaper' is a nice touch. Staff were very friendly, especialy after the third visit. The brunch platter is good value as you get a good selection of items and coffee fill ups. the walls show local art and it is available to buy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAMTrabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stopped by here because the restaurant we wanted to go to was not open for lunch. Overall the food was pretty good and filling. I had the Minke Whale burger and my wife had a regular beef burger with fries. The food was reasonably priced for what we got. I would recommend returning, I would probably go with something different though. Just tried the whale to check the block and I definitely prefer beef to whale.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janelle-Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Close and Casual”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was right around the corner from our hotel. The menu had many Icelandic items and both of our dishes were nicely prepared. My husband had the 3 types of herring, salted cod (just a sampling) and fermented shark (again, just a tidbit). I had creamy lobster soup with actual pieces of lobster. It was very nice as was the bread that came with it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bokunhandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Situated in the center of Reykjavik, it is a well located restaurant. It is big but some tables are but quite close together. If you can have a table with some space, you will have a good experience. The waiters have to work hard but they are friendly and helpful. The food was also a good experience. We had fish and chips, the display on the plate was very nice.Service goes fast, so you will not have to spend your complete evening in at the table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geysir Bistro Reykjavik also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Geysir Bistro Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing