We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back for another meal”

Geysir Bistro Reykjavik
Ranked #66 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: Would you like to take time from their everyday routine, sit down in a cozy environment, watch the bustling life itself, rushing in and enjoy the restaurants and services. Bistro is located in the center of the Vortex in the heart of Reykjavik. Bistro is offered a varied menu with an emphasis on the Icelandic specialties mixed with dishes with an international twist. We pride ourselves on freshness, variety and professionalism. We use fresh Icelandic ingredients in all our dishes. Whether the desire is delicious meal for lunch or a cozy evening in a small or large group offers Bistro welcomes you in a comfortable and homey atmosphere.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We went back for another meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this restaurant, had a really nice evening meal there and later on In the week we went back for lunch. My partner has a restricted diet and yet the friendly and professional waitress listened patiently to the long list of no-no's and made sure he still got a tasty meal. Next time we are in Reykavik we will revisit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    389
    86
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal ever BUT over prized”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

It was my last day in Iceland and I wanted to taste some traditional food for the last time. So me and my girlfriend drove to downtown, we had a place in mind but it was full and not up to my standards so we took a walk and looked for some other places . Finally I saw this big advert out side a tourist information place ... We both liked it so we decided to have lunch there ... The restaurant is inside kind of a small mall and I didn't like that , but I was so looking forward for the food ... A lady with a very nice smile welcomed us and gave us a very good table, close to the radadiator and by the window ... We took a look at the menu and the lady brought us two glasses of water complimentary, that was so nice of her.
We ordered as quick as possible coz I had to catch a flight , the lady knew that I was in a rush to go to the airport and she asked the chef to make it quick and in few minutes we were eating . The lady brought us another bottle of water for free .. THE FOOD WAS AMAZING, FRESH, AUTHENTIC,TRADITIONAL AND ORIGINALLY PLATED. ( I m a fussy person so it takes a lot to please me ) . We had one starter and 2 main courses, as I said they were delicious but it was over prized, for 1 starter and 2 main courses we were charged 12,000 isk round about 77 euros ... BUT AGAIN THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND THAT LADY WHO SERVED US WAS SO NICE, I DO RECOMMEND THIS PLACE

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schembri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was really good, we didn't have too much time here but enough for a coffee and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I wish I had two stomachs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This food was excellent, from drinks to entree to desert. I still dream about the chicken club I had!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner was delicious. My husband had the lamb fillet. "The best lamb he has ever had". I had the cod. Beautiful presentation and delicious. The service was great, our waitress was friendly and very competent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank djry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geysir Bistro Reykjavik also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Geysir Bistro Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing