We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite good but small portions ?”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Ranked #122 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
644 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“quite good but small portions ?”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very tasty food, but they go for quality rather than quantity and as such we were still hungry ! There was a special meal deal advertised in the window (it was a Monday) and the waitress said "not at the weekends sorry" Perhaps because it was a national holiday the day we were there it was classed as a weekend ? Staff very friendly, the place is tiny and cramped but cosy. It's OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    168
    67
    25
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly. Good, affordable Indian food.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Recommended. Cosy, small place and friendly staf. Good, affordable Indian food. Impressive how they cook sutch good dinner in sutch a small kitchen!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonvdZalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skjetten
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“100% satisfied”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our second visit. The tandoori chicken was just as tasty as I remember from last year. Spicy and juicy. The Nan bread with raisins was just yummi, and the bill was 8500 ISK for two tandooris, 2 Nan bread and a bottle of red wine. Just what we pay for a bottle of wine in Norway! I will certainly come back next June.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LivSkjetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfriesshire
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“nice little restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

very busy place with people coming and going the whole time we were there. didn't quite get what we ordered but what we did get was really tasty and plenty of it. very pleasant waitress who thanked us very much for coming. reasonably priced for an expensive city

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janicejanroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food --poor service”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have visited this restaurant a few times and they never disappoint when it comes to the food, excellent food indeed. However their service is not up to standards. They complain when you ask to sit upstairs and everything seems to be such an effort, even getting water to your table, so its very uncomfortable to ask them for anything.
If they'd up their service, this would be one of my favorite places, but because of the service factor, I visit it seldomly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebesa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Kopavogur, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing