We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best food best service”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Ranked #116 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best food best service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

everything was on the spot ..nice atmosphere delicus food.staff was cheerful very welcoming .and one off the best currys in the world

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blerim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    164
    66
    23
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never go there”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Absolutly discusting meal to hot and over priced beer to get rid of awful taste
The service was awful as we had to wait for the waiter to finish his meal first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank simont1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Much better elsewhere.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I went here with my wife and another couple and we all left with the same opinion, not a very good experiance at all, the food is overpriced, over spiced and too exspesive, we also felt the staff were totally disinterested and just wanted your money. One to definitely avoid.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pricega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trnava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice attitude of staff, tasty dishes”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was surprised that I found out this kind of restaurant in Iceland.. so I tried..
Very nice and tasty experience. I am not really fan of spicy cuisines ..but here it was spicy and hot just enough, everything was fresh and the typical bread was prepared in front of our eyes..

nice place to go ..if you want to have rest from a fish, pasta or pizza :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinaKasubova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious curry”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a three course meal here in the end of December, as it was one of the few restaurants that were open on the second day of christmas. "Nawabi Korma Chicken" and "Lamb cooked with spinach, tumeric and kardamoms" were both really good. The nan breads were home made, and both the mango chutney and the raita sauce were the best I've ever tasted. For dessert we had "Halwa". We asked to have the main dishes extra spicy, so it tasted extra good with some Thule beer to drink.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanettesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing