We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza; go-to in Iceland for a reasonable meal.”
Review of Eldsmiojan

Eldsmiojan
Ranked #102 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We have been making pizza with Love since 1986. Handmade and baked in wood fire. We are a chain of pizza restaurants and have 5 different locations around Reykjavík. Bragagata Laugavegur 81 Bragagata 38A Sudurlandsbraut 12 Ártúnshöfdi N1 (gas station) Dalvegur 4
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pizza; go-to in Iceland for a reasonable meal.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ordered a pizza for take out our first, jet lagged night in Reykjavik. It did not disappoint. Ordered the large pepperoni which surprisingly comes w/ large white onions and pineapple - pretty tasty. Crust was thin and crunchy and the toppings good. Walked in, places our order and came back in 30mins. (Saturday night). There is seating up stairs but we ate in the comfort of our rental apartment. Other than hot dogs, meals can be pricey here. Pizza wasn't cheap, but reasonable compared w/ other options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The2Purnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    247
    65
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ordered a take out from here on our second night.
We were told it would be 40mins (which is fine) but getting there had to wait a further 20 minutes.
The staff were apologetic but 1 hour for a pizza?
The pizza was good, tasty dough etc.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
808 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Good pizza, poor service”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were in a hurry catching a tour so a fast food restaurant would be the only option for us on the first day in reykjavik. Didn't know it was claimed to be the best pizza place in town. My friends and I ordered one pizza to share and 3 pops cuz we're not that hungry, that waiter looked at us as if we should order one pizza per person. The damage was ISK1060 per person. Not bad for a quick meal...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Italian pizza.... Yuppie!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This pizzeria was right in front of our guesthouse. ...how lucky! We had dinner here twice. The first time the pizza was a bit burned but still very good; the second was simply perfect. They actually have a wood fire oven and that seriously improve the taste. The pizza is pricey but not much more than a Domino's in the UK. ..but a billion times better!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For budget Icelandic Italian, this is as good as it gets.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

You're in Reykjavik... This pizza is wood-fired and tastes decent. The prices (for Americans) will be a bit high. The beers start at 895 kr. At current rates, that's $7.15 for a 12 ounce glass bottle. The pizza was over $20 for a 16".
The quality of the food is ok, not great, ok.
If you don't expect too much, you won't be disappointed. This is a good place to grab a "reasonably" priced bite to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheftang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eldsmiojan also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Eldsmiojan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing