We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend - must visit”
Review of Italia

Italia
Ranked #112 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - must visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were recommended this little gem by our hotel receptionist and we were not disappointed.

Prices were on the steep side like most things in Iceland, however the portions and quality justified the price tag.

Starter: none

Main: tortellini - probably the best tortellini I have tasted. Generous portion size, fresh ingredients and extremely tasty.

Dessert: Italian chocolate cake. Massive slab of moist rich chocolate cake with whipped cream and fresh fruit - very satisfying.

My partner, a vegetarian, was also extremely pleased given she chose the gardienia pasta and was also very pleased.

Very pleasant waitresses and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    203
    87
    28
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Central Location”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant, with traditional Italian food. It is a great choice for particularly picky travelers, looking for a taste of home. I got a seafood pasta dish, that was originally supposed to come with a meat sauce, that I switched for an Alfredo. It was good, but not great. The meal was definitely enhanced when paired with a white wine. It was an excellent, filling meal. Slightly on the pricy side, for a fairly basic meal. The restaurant was extremely busy, which takes away from the experience a bit, but it is a good sign.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Even though my husband and I shared two different plates and had exactly the same food, hee thought it was excellent, and I found it quite plain and boring. The tortellini could very well be storebought and the ham was like sandwicham! The crust on the pizza was thin and tasteless - but then again my husband liked it a lot.
Other people must like it too, as there were plenty of people and it was impossible to get a table for Saturday night!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LPHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central italian restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Good atmosphere very busy for a Tuesday evening food quality average .price about twice uk ie 2 mains 2 waters 37UK pounds this unfortunately is what you have to pay for a meal that you could get in any uk high street generally you would not mind paying a premium price for s premium product but you are not getting that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Little Italy in Iceland”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cozy restaurant with typical Italian decor. Delicious pasta and pizza dishes at a reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and will do their utmost to squeeze you in even if you don't have a reservation, although for dinner it is recommended to book a table in advance since this place is always busy.

Definitely an option if you don't want to spend a fortune on restaurant food and at the same time don't want to end up eating whale or puffin - after all, everybody loves Italian food (or don't you?!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verena165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italia also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing