We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pad thai and green curry”
Review of Ban Thai

Ban Thai
Ranked #197 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pad thai and green curry”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the place to go if you are not in a hurry. Waitresses are young, not very experienced in customer service. But food is worth waiting for! We had as an appetizer tofu triangles and spring rolls. Tasty, crispy and fresh - clearly made after ordering, not prepared/cooked the day before. As a main course we had pad thai wirh shrimps and chicken green curry. Shrimps were fresh, and green curry was delightfully tasty with basil. Very good food, and reasonable price in Iceland.

Helpful?
2 Thank Liisa_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    127
    55
    25
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good choice if you have time to wait”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Tiny restaurant that serves tasty thai food. It was priced moderately (in Icelandic terms). However in the future I will remember this restaurant from its slow service. When we entered to the restaurant, it took a while before anyone cared to come to see us. It took again some moments before we got a menu, before we got any drinks, before someone came to ask our orders etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OtS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big expensive disappointment!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

After all, what should we expect when we are two Americans in Iceland eating Thai food. The food was dreadful. Everything so sweet! Careless preparation. The service was poor. The atmosphere was hot and crowded. Frantic activity by the wait staff. Small portions. High prices. Surely there are plenty of better places to eat in Reykjavik.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judithpensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telsiai, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One try and you can´t never forget the”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

While visiting Iceland one evening I went there with my family to get some delicious dinner. And you know what ? I want to share now with everyone that great experience and good memory about that restaurant. I liked the atmosphere there, the service was very good, the food.....it just melted with all those colorful flavors in my mouth .Oh it was so good ! I really liked it there, my family also enjoyed that evening . We ordered first appetizer spring-rools and if I remember correctly coconut prawns .It was very delicious , my wife especially liked coconut prawns. For the main meal we got some curry dish, fried rice and some meat dish ...I think it was Ban Thai chicken . To sum it all up we liked it very much. I am going to visit this place when I come to Iceland again. You feel so relaxed there :) Waitress also very nice there, sincerely tried to make our evening even more enjoyable .
Thank you Ban Thai for everything :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Egidijus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best Thai food ever”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is an old restaurant dated but clean. The oner and his wife cook the food in a small kitchen to the side of the restaurant behind the bar we found the food was so tasty and spicy cooked fresh with good Thai beer so refreshing . and the price was good. Opens at 19.00 hr try it we think you will like it..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank silvertop65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Thai also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Ban Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing