We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!”
Review of Asgard Beyond

Asgard Beyond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Asgard-Beyond is a premium mountain guide operator in Iceland. Focusing on true small group experiences with local guides we strive towards maintaining the best operation in Iceland for Glacier related activities, family friendly tours and more customised technical tours. Being an Icelandic operator, we always aim towards the true Icelandic experience on all of our tours. Guides and staff are born and raised locals that have the inside and depth of information needed to complete a successful, safe and truly a personal experience. We believe that the integrity of our operation shines through on all our projects, tours and travels around Iceland. Being inspired by our core values every single day, we welcome you to our home - Iceland. Integrity - Passion - Progression
Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

Cannot recommend this highly enough. Had a great day out hiking the glacier and stopping off at the waterfall and the beach with famous dead whale.

This is definitely a tour where quality of experience is a priority rather than cramming loads of people on a single tour.

If you want to have great day out with a friendly and professional guide than this is definitely for you. Do it!! You won't regret it.

Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdisdogg, Owner at Asgard Beyond, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Charlie!
First of all, thank you for choosing Asgard Beyond as your adventure provider in Iceland. We really appreciate the trust. And secondly, we are really happy to hear you liked our glacier hiking trip to Sólheimajökull glacier, and enjoyed the day. Thank you for your kind words, and please, if you find yourself in Iceland again, don´t hesitate to stay in touch.
All the best: Ásdís Dögg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ice climbing"
in 15 reviews
"glacier hike"
in 17 reviews
"ice walls"
in 2 reviews
"amazing glacier"
in 2 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 4 reviews
"rain gear"
in 2 reviews
"black sand beach"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"robbi"
in 7 reviews
"raggi"
in 7 reviews
"hiking"
in 9 reviews
"boots"
in 6 reviews
"company"
in 10 reviews
"guide"
in 24 reviews
"outing"
in 2 reviews
"skills"
in 2 reviews
Filter

57 - 61 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2015

It was a fun experience and we knew we were in safe hands with our knowledgeable guide Jon. We were able to customize where we went based on our interests. I even found some cool wool rugs I bought off a local farmer. Thanks!

Thank 684tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdisdogg, Owner at Asgard Beyond, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2015

Dear Tracy!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the south coast and glacier trip with us. We like the tour every time, especially when it´s private, and we can do what interests our guests at each time. And you were right to feel safe with Jón, he´s a real asset for Asgard. One of Iceland´s best glacier guides. And an OK guy in general:-) It´s so great to hear you fond some wool rugs along the way. Wool is awesome. Thank you so much for your kind words, and if you´re ever again in Iceland, don´t hesitate to stay in touch. All the best from us at Asgard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2015

Simply Terrific! My husband and I spent a day glacier hiking and ice climbing with Ragnar, aka Raggi, It was awesome! Raggi was very thorough, patient, and knowledgeable. He completely tailored the day to cover our objectives, and was especially helpful in teaching some of the more technical skills and rope management techniques. Raggi even spent time making excellent recommendations for the rest of our vacation in Iceland. I would absolutely recommend contacting Asgard Beyond for any outdoor adventuring in Iceland. Thank you for a great experience.

Thank RWachtelDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdisdogg, Manager at Asgard Beyond, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Dear Jonathan & Rebecca!

Thank you for sharing great adventure moments with us here in Iceland. It makes us genuinely happy when our guests discover something new that they really like. And share our enthusiasm and passion for the Icelandic Glaciers, and what they offer us as their visitors. A truly magical world out there. And yes, you´re absolutely right. Raggi is an amazing guide, and just an overall great guy. We are truly lucky to have him. Thanks again for your kind words and recommendation, and taking the time to share your joy with the world. Hope to see you again in Iceland one day.

All the best:

Ásdís Dögg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

I cannot say enough about Asgard Beyond and Robert Halldorsson in particular. My son and I spent a week in Iceland and the two days of adventures with Robert were certainly the highlights. We went ski touring, rock climbing and cave exploring. When we determined during the rock climb that it was outside of our comfort level, Robert graciously and safely got us off the climb. He then, on the fly, came up with an alternative plan for the balance of the day and took us to a lava cave. During the various travels to our adventures Robbi told us a great deal about Iceland, it's history and current events. In short, if you are planning a trip to Iceland, connect with Asgard Beyond; if you are not planning a trip to Iceland do so (it's amazing), and connect with Asgard Beyond!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank erik107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdisdogg, Manager at Asgard Beyond, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Dear Erik!
First of all, we are extremely happy to hear that you and your son enjoyed your Iceland experience, and were so happy with our shared adventures. We always do our best to help our guests enjoy our beautiful but rugged North Atlantic Island, in a safe and comfortable environment. Róbert is indeed a spectacular guide, and has a way of making magic while guiding tours. We are truly lucky to have him. We really hope to see you two again in Iceland soon, thank you for your kind words & thank you for recommending Asgard to others. We really appreciate it.
All the best: Ásdís Dögg & Team Asgard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2015

We'd been looking for a day tour to combine a glacier and super jeep experience when we came in contact with Asgard Beyond. They were very flexible and planned the day with regards to what we wanted to do. We were four, so we fit into one jeep with the guide. Our guide for the day was Raggi, with whom we felt very comfortable and could ask almost whatever, regardless of if it was questions on the physical structure of the glacier or on the volcanic history of Iceland, he always had a satisfying answer. After a short stop at Seljalandsfoss we got to Sólheimajökull, where we got a thorough walkthrough on the technique and safety of glacier walking with crampons before continuing up on the ice. Raggi explained the different phenomena of the glacier as we went pass them and before getting down from the glacier we all got to try some ice climbing. After a lunch stop at Skógafoss we got to experience some real super jeep off-road driving; on a black sand beach as well as crossing rivers. During the whole day there was a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, and we were very well taken care of by Raggi.

Thank Gabriella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdisdogg, Manager at Asgard Beyond, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Dear Gabriella!

Thank you so much for your kind words. They are highly appreciated. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Glacier Day Out. We absolutely love the glacier and the black sand beach of the South Coast. And we totally agree, Raggi is unique, and it´s hard not to enjoy his company. We really hope you had a good time for the rest of your Iceland stay, and had a good flight back to Beautiful Sweden. We really hope to see you again one day here in Iceland.

All the best: Ásdís and The Asgard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asgard Beyond also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Asgard Beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing