We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Icelandic welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Ranked #31 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Wisorough Green
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic Icelandic welcome!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful break in Iceland. Our stay at the Apartmenthouse was fantastic. Forsaela is a real gem and only a few minutes walk from the main shopping street and restaurants in downtown Reykjavik. Hlin and Siggi are wonderful hosts and their passion for Iceland and its heritage shines through in everything they are doing at Forsaela. If you want a taste of authentic Iceland and accommodation that is cosy, clean and full of character, go for Forsaela Apartmenthouse. We left feeling that our hosts had become friends.

We did a wonderful hiking tour with Siggi in the hills and valleys north of Hverageroi. It was a fantastic day and bathing in the hot springs is a memory that will stay with us. If you're looking for a private tour, drop them an e-mail before your stay. They came up with some fantastic suggestions, away from the main tourist tours.

John Hamilton and Barbara Mead

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
29
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heiden, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were a group of 10 divers spending 5 days in the three appartements and the little house. Hlin has been greeting us in her lovley and kind manner, and we felt at home right away. She did everything to make us happy: Starting with a great breakfast in the cosy living room up to washing some fishy smelling clothes. We could also use her drying room to hang up diving equipment. In the living room of the little house there was enough room for the 10 of us to sit together and have a first look at the pictures taken during the dive day and having a last goodnight-drink. When we left for 2 day in the middle of the week for a trip up north, we were aloud to leave stuff in the house we didn't need up north, what made it a lot easier. Leaving after a week war realy hard, Hlin was just great an not be around her any more made us all sad. If we come to Island again, there is no other place than staying with Hlin! Thanks again for everything!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 617SIMONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear group of divers. Thank you for your heartwarming comments and appreciation. It was truly a great experience to get to know you. Your adventurous spirit, professionality and organisation of every detail impressed me and I was happy to be able to assist about some little things. During your stay you visited many different driving spots, the extraordinary Silfra, lake Kleifarvatn and some areas along the coast. It was a privilage to have you as guests of Forsaela and to get a glimpse Into the magical world of driving. Best wishes, I'll be looking forward to meeting you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was an excellent choice for father and daughter travelling together. For almost a week we had a house in the very city center of Reykjavik. That is possible only in Iceland! The family was extremely nice and helpful. They took care of all our needs, helped to rent a car or arrange a trip to Blue Lagoon in five minutes! Forsaela is for travellers who want to have an experience and do not want to pay high prices in hotels.

Room Tip: The upstairs bedroom may get hot in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience of staying with us at our B&B this summer. I do my best to assist and advise and the moments while serving breakfast are precious and offer the possibility of sharing something more than just formalities. Thank you for your appreciation, I'll be looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

First of all, why choose a rental apartment, instead of a hotel, you might ask. Well, everything is quite expensive in Iceland; for example, a simple soup is around US$12! Therefore, it is nice to have a kitchen of your own, should you decide to cook and eat in. In addition, you could enjoy much more space in an apartment than a hotel, if you don't mind making your bed.

Forsaela offers more than those though! While it is centrally located - a block away from the major shopping street, 5 minutes walk to Hallgrimskirkja and 10-15 minutes walk to all other major attractions in the old town, it is surprisingly quiet where the street is. Deco in the one-bedroom apartment where I stayed is simple but neat and homey.

Above all, what makes my stay at Forsaela most memorable is Hlin and Siggi! Not only are they an interesting couple, but they both are also experts in advising their guests how to enjoy Iceland and what/when to see or do Because of their kindness and being so helpful, I had a stress free 9-day vacation and truly enjoyed my visit to this country of Ice and Fire! Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apa711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear friend of Forsaela. Thank you for sharing your experience and writing a wonderful review. When I think about the election day, I'll always recall your expression about the X-S "extra small" Me and Siggi are very much looking forward to welcome you for a stay during the New Year festivities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

When planning our second trip to iceland my sister and i wanted to find a place we could feel more part of the community. We travel with our husbands and teenage kids. The forsaela apartments were perfect. They are fully stocked with everything we needed, from technology to cooking,as well as close to shopping, food stores, cafes, public pool, transportation and walking distance from the center of town. The neighborhood is safe and the couple that owns and runs the property were helpful and respectful of our space. They can tell you where the best bread is or take you on a custom tour of anywhere in the area. We went on a full day tour to the coast. We wanted to see local crafts and animal life. We saw amazing intimate things we would never have seen. A sheep farm where we were toured by the owner and his girlfriend. They discussed every aspect of the farm and made us a delicious meal for lunch. We went to a woman's wool coop and saw how it was formed, developed, thrived and every step of what they do from buying through production. We met artists of three generations that work with wood and displayed it in their own home gallery. We walked through lava tubes and passed waterfalls. We did much more but the important part was the integrity that went into each step of assisting us. The owners are educators and artists so it was a perfect fit for us. We highly recommend this property and hope to stay there again on future trips.

Room Tip: Because we had two families we needed a little separateness. This location had several choices but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FoodieGoodfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear friends of Forsaela,

Thank you for a wonderful review and appreciation. Emphasizing integrity as an important part of your experience is truly the best compliment we could have wished for. It was a pleasure to organize a tour for you to experience something special. Guided by your wish to to see local crafts and animal life, we are pleased to know that we have succeeded in meeting your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great time in Iceland and although the country is quite expensive generally, the Forsaela apartments was a real find in Reykjavik. Very comfortable, cosy and central for shopping and tours with very friendly and helpful hosts Hlin & Siggi. We had intended staying there for 3 nights before travelling around Iceland but decided to stay there for entire holiday.
Would highly recommend for groups and particularly for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ger_Smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear friends of Forsaela.

We thank you for taking the time to share with others your positive experience of staying at our "Cosy Cute & Central" Forsaela Apartments. We enjoy making guests feel welcome and comfortable and appreciate that you complimented us with a prolonged stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Forsaela Apartmenthouse is a real cosy way to stay in Reykjavik. A very nice place. The House is very clean and all facilities are working well.
But the bestare the very friendly hosts Hlin and Siggi, Pick up and bring Service to the Airport, as well at early morning time - thank you and a fantastic breakfast in a privat atmosphere in their house - we enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuenterL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear friends of Forsaela. Thank you for sharing your positive and kind review. It was a pleasure to
have you as our guests and to experience your keen interest in exploring and photographing Iceland in different seasons. Thank you for your invaluable support by adding photos from our apartments to the review.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Luna Apartments
#27 of 106 in Reykjavik
147 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#25 of 106 in Reykjavik
126 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Studio Apartments
Alfred's Studio Apartments
#28 of 106 in Reykjavik
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
#44 of 106 in Reykjavik
126 reviews
Island Apartments
#20 of 106 in Reykjavik
55 reviews
Mengi Apartments Reykjavik
#21 of 110 in Reykjavik
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsaela Apartmenthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsaela Apartmenthouse

Property: Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Address: Grettisgata, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a lovely private garden with patios and green spaces in a quiet residential area next to Laugavegur, Reykjavik's main shopping street. Surrounded with Cafes, restaurants, museums, art galleries and other sites off interest. A perfect "home away from home" for families and friends as well as for the reunion of the greater family. By staying in Forsaela you will experience the atmosphere of the past combined with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Forsaela Apartmenthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing