We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grillid

Grillid
Ranked #79 of 460 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $161
Cuisines: European, Fusion, Scandinavian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining On the eighth floor of the Radisson BLU Saga hotel is Grillid, a restaurant that for more than half a century has been a symbol of a perfect night in Reykjavik. The reason is simple, at Grillid quality comes first, in food and drink, service and atmosphere. A night at Grillid is really a celebration for your senses, quality food and fine wine. Grillid Restaurant truly defines fine Icelandic dining. Panoramic view Grillid is on the eight floor of the Radisson Blu Saga hotel in Reykjavik and provides amazing view over Reykjavik city, the sea and the mountains.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always excellent.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and went to Grillid. We had a wonderful evening with great food, wine and attentive service. I can only recommend everyone to go their and enjoy the view and great culinary skills.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bohall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    26
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Beautiful location, with high end dining & an ambitious chef.
We were allowed the time to savour our meal, with a couple of complimentary courses added in. The portions were satisfying without being too much, which allowed the innovative flavour combinations to shine.
I had the langoustines with smoked onions - a revelation! The beef tenderloin was possibly one of the finest courses I've ever had. Sublime, and having the chef serve the course & explain his food philosophy was a special touch.

Truly a meal to remember.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JimP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life thus far”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I will not be able to do a review justice as I am not a poet. Chef Sigurður and his team created by far the best tenderloin I’ve had, and I grew up on Alberta beef. The complimentary charcuterie and amuse-bouche were divine and dessert left me with a grin I couldn’t hold back.
My biggest goal for a return to Iceland is to bring friends or family on my next trip, and I will be sharing this experience with them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 out of five”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Got a Four course tasting menu - great staff and the Chef came that inspire us - specially chosen "everything" from the Icelandic menu. Le Courlis Sauvignon Tourain *****

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Erluas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Extraordinary lamb”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The lamb was brilliant. The starter as well as the dessert tasted wonderfully. The service was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Berit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Manager at Grillid, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review of our restaurant. It helps us to further achievements. Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Jakob Mar Hardarson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing