We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorri's Guesthouse: the best choice in Reykjavik”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snorri's Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 110 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Snorri's Guesthouse: the best choice in Reykjavik”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very good located near the city center and the oldest swimming pool, Snorri's Guesthouse is the best choice for your holiday in Reykjavik.
At Snorri's you will find a good and familiar atmosphere, clean and nice rooms, good breakfast and lots of good suggestions from Magnus, that is always very helpful and smiling!
I definitively recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
61
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Great BNB, super close to the centre!!
Magnus was so friendly and coulndt do enough to help us, defo if your staying in Reykajavik would totally recommend!!!

Also breakfest was amazing!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg Region, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed there for 9 nights. Magnùs was quite helpful if we had questions. The price is really good. Every third night is for free. The B&B is 10 minutes away from the city centre, which is totally fine. The main church is just up the road f.e. Snorri`s is situated next to a main road but there wasn´t any noise at all. Breakfast is alright as well - good value for money. Although it is just between 8 and 9, which is way to early if you ask me. Until 10 would be convenient I think. However, I felt the room wasn´t very clean although nicely furnished. The floor and furniture were dirty/dusty and were not cleaned at all during our stay. There also was a bit of trash (paper) under the bed from the previous guests. Also there were quite a few hairs on the bed. However, after we cleaned up a bit our stay was OK-ish.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EShofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Our family (sons 18 & 22) stayed at Snorri's for 5 nights in August 2011. Fly Bus stops at their corner. Fifteen minute walk to BSI bus station and town center. On a busy street but quiet at night. Breakfast room had nice view of backyard and plenty of food to choose from. Magnus made us feel very comfortable, assisted with dinner and travel reservations, provided an extra phone charger, and stored some of our excess luggage while we traveled to Porsmork & Skogar. Our rooms were small but very clean and adequate. Shared bathroom was no big deal. Would stay there again if we return to Iceland.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms has sloped ceiling and would not be good for tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at Snorri's our first night (of only 4) in Iceland, at the end of Sept 2011. My first impression was not great: busy street, minimal aesthetics, small room, dis-interested front desk person. However, it turned out fine. The location, while a bit difficult logistically, being on one of the busiest streets coming into town, was quiet after 8pm, when Reykjavik turns into a small town. The reception person was quite helpful and the value (given that everything in Iceland is insanely expensive) was good. I would recommend it if you want basic quality and good value.

We loved Iceland and plan to return for a longer stay, even though Reykjavik isn't much of a draw.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhamPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here 10th-16th August 2011. Great base to take in the Iceland Airwaves music festival and Reykjavik (plus a few days trips out of the city); around 15mins brisk walk into the centre of town. The rooms are decent (with enough space to hang clothes etc....) and well decorated. Breakfast is continental but well stocked and there was an added bonus that the kitchen was available for use by guests (useful if you don't want to eat out every night in order to keep costs down). Magnus couldn't have been more helpful in assisting to organise days out, hire car and giving us directions to local attractions and those further afield. Would fully recommend, especially to anyone who would rather stay in a local guesthouse over a homogenous multinational hotel.

NB - if you think (as we did) that the drains are starting to smell when water is run, it's not the drains, it's a by-product of the geothermal energy production.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Good location. If you are staying in Reykjavik I wouldn't hesitate staying here. The breakfast is a typical Scandinavian Breakfast and is very good. The rooms are clean and adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
912 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 106 in Reykjavik
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snorri's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snorri's Guesthouse

Property: Snorri's Guesthouse
Address: Snorrabraut 61, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snorri???s Guesthouse is in 101 Reykjavik, Iceland, conveniently located in the city center, only few minutes from the Fly-Bus, coach and bus terminals. Snorri's Guesthouse is near the main shopping street in Reykjavik where one can also find many of the city's best restaurants and pubs. Snorri's Guesthouse is a member of the Icelandic Travel Industry Association and has all the necessary operation permits. We have two stars classification from the Icelandic Tourist Board. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing