We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for lunch”

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Ranked #61 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stopped in for lunch on a rainy Saturday. Cheerful, clean, plain atmosphere. Simple wooden tables and chairs. Order from the chalk board. Not a large menu but all the basics for a fish place are here. Order at the counter, find a seat, put your number on the table and they bring the food when ready. Don't forget to bring your utensils from the front room because that's where they are. Remember you are in Iceland because a light lunch of delicious food is just over $100. Given all we'd eat here again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ERKA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,694
    1,573
    474
    144
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fresh good fish and unique dipping sauces- affordable prices too!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We ate dinner here in June 2014.

Atmosphere: was the only restaurant in Iceland we had to wait for a seat- it was packed! Restaurant is right on the harbor, so pleasant views from all the windows. Service was very quick and friendly.

Food: The menu is ala carte and all organic- there are the fish of the day (when we went there were 3 kinds) and you can order the fish in a recommended combination (such as in a salad or in another dish) or you can order them plain (fried) with a choice of nine skyr (a soft cheese that tastes like yogurt)-based dipping sauces. You can pick one sauce, or try 3, 6, or all 9 in sample sizes. We decided to get two different kinds of fish with the 9 size sampler. Our favorite sauces were mango, coriander/lime, and chili/roasted pepper.

Prices: For Icelandic prices, a very reasonable and delicious dinner. Our two servings of fish and all dipping sauces was about $40

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coldcalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romanel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“organic restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Well situated near the harbour, this restaurant serves fresh fish. As my partner doesn't like battered fish, we chose the oven fish which was tasty. The menu is on the blackboard above the bar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Titch-the-Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Casual restaurant with Chalkboard menu”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Order at the counter, find a seat, and they'll bring you your order. Fish and Chips plus Icelandic specialties. Nothing amazing, but definitely good quality food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaceAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Fish”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This restaurant was fairly close to our hotel. We ate dinner here twice. On our first visit, we got one of the specials, which came with lightly fried cod served on greens and some roasted potatoes. Everything was delicious. Our server was great about answering questions and I was able to get my food salt free. Yeah! If you want great fish, come here. It was one of our best meals in Iceland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing