We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Over rated!”

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Ranked #62 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Over rated!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Those were the words our guide used to describe Icelandic Fish and Chips …if we had only listened.

Our dining experience was far from being even average. The prices are off the charts – al a carte on speed. What kind of Fish and Chips joint charges extra for Ketchup and Tartar Sauce? Seriously, that’s an $8 gotcha on 2 plates.

The food, pedestrian, boring and greasy. I'm not sure there was any onion in the onion rings – all I could taste was grease. My fries (oven roasted wedges) were also sitting in a pool of oil.

As for service there really is none. You order at the counter and they drop and disappear. It was fun watching the guy at the next table try to get his fish and salad entrée (that came with no salad) corrected. He had to explain their “house speciality” to them.

I’m sure there are some really good fish and chips spots in Reykjavik – this isn't one of them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,716
    1,596
    489
    146
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food-order vinegar in advance”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The fish was great. The staff knew a lot about the different types of fish and made great recommendations. The portions were huge and it was a great value for Reykjavik. Don't miss the skyr sauces. You have to "order" vinegar when you order your food because it isn't provided as a condiment as it is in the US or UK.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This place is well worth a visit, serving fresh cooked fish. The staff were very attentive and helpful speaking brilliant English. Food was delivered hot and the sauces excellent. Also good beer (gull) on tap. The only reason I did not give it a 5 was that the "crispy potatoes were not very crispy, tasty but not crispy.
Only realised they served deserts after paying but would defiantly go there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelLenStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, surrey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I came here for dinner. The restaurant was very busy. On entry you find a table and then go to the bar to choose your food and drink and pay. We both had Cod and chips with salad and tartar sauce. With a superb home made bread with olive oil and tea and a ginger soda the bill came to around £30. The fish was beautifully cooked and light and the chips were tasty and well cooked. A great place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DerekPMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
178 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good old Fish and Chips”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

With all the promise of whale and puffin "delights" it was great to find this eating place down by the fishing harbour. Service was quick and the fish excellent. It was reasonably priced and better than the £50+ per head meal we had the previous night at a "good" restaurant in the centre..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunchasingbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing