We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is great, service is eh”

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Ranked #62 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food is great, service is eh”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Deliciously prepared very fresh fish and side dishes. A little on the expensive side for portion size (very reasonable, but don't expect big portions).

You come in, and sit, and then you go to the counter to order, which can be a bit confusing, and the staff varies significantly in their attitude and helpfulness. We got one good, one fairly rude, but we the food was good, and after we ordered it came out very quickly.

Good for fish aficionados, not so much for those with small children or large parties.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCNY100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,698
    1,573
    474
    144
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good fisch and chips in a simple setting”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a simple but good place to eat fish and chips directly loctaed at the harbour. Do not expect of course culinary extravangazas it says "Fish and Chips" and that is what you get. But probably in the best and most tasty way you can get it anywhere around Reykjavik. We went there after a whale watching tour to get some lunch. They serve a variety of different fishes, dips and chips. You Chose and order at the counter and then the food is brought to your table. The portions are huge and the fish is really tasty. We had two different dips, the standard dip and coriander/lemon (both very tasty). The prices are ok, we payed ca 6500 ISK for two fish and chips and two beers. It's Iceland after all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't rate the food because we were never served”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Seated upon arriving at the restaurant and promised menus but the waitstaff never came back. No one paid any attention to us for over fifteen minutes so we left. Went across the street to Hofnin and had a terrific lunch of fish and mussels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjp500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really well-prepared fish”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We could not get enough of the fish...the way it's prepared in Iceland is much better than what we get in North America, there's just a thin layer of batter so most of what you're eating is actually fish. The onion rings were done the same way and were excellent also. There was a bit of a wait but that's to be expected on a Friday night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hair in my wife's fish & chips”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The concept and brand is great. But the owner doesn't seem to care much about his/her workers because they seem dour and overworked. The place seems maximized to turn crowds and sell fish. 2 of the 3 fish types were sold out when we were there so we had to try the hum-drum cod. My wife's had a long blonde hair of a worker baked into it. The system of waiting in line to order and then to pay is a hassle and annoying. They need to rethink the approach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MisterNonfiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing