We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips with a bistro twist”

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Ranked #62 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish and chips with a bistro twist”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Strictly speaking this was fish and potato wedges rather than fish and chips, but it was so fresh and tasty I'm not complaining. Good portion size, only minor gripes were condiments such as ketchup or vinegar were extra at 150Kr each, fancier ones were 250Kr, which I felt was a bit overpriced. The few dessert options weren't particularly tempting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,716
    1,596
    489
    146
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“train wreck”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

i suppose it was our fault for arriving with raging appetites, but isn't that why one goes to a restaurant? we were ravenous after swimming but unfortunately our first choices, sea baron and hofnin, were both fully booked; that's the only reason we ended up here. after we ordered, we waited about 10 minutes before we asked to have our drinks now, as we noticed diners around us receiving them with their dinner. three of us got our drinks but one was forgotten. we went up to the counter again to ask for that, and also to beg for bread or SOMETHING to eat. we wolfed down the bread and waited 10 more minutes before begging for more. 20 minutes passed and we were starting to get cranky and began arguing with eachother.. i went to the counter and asked how much longer it would take; i think we were considering hot dogs at that point. they said our orders were being worked on at that moment. five minutes later, the food came out. now, you would think after being made to wait hungrily for 45 minutes, the meal would taste amazing.. right? unfortunately it was only okay. the oven-baked haddock was definitely lacking flavour (even though it was smeared with a coriander paste) and my friend said the same of her mussels.

as we were paying the bill, i asked if it was normal to wait this long. they explained that the restaurant was understaffed, but i told them that we would have appreciated being told up front about the situation. at that point they apologized, but they didn't bother to do so until i had mentioned the long wait. no discount or comped drinks were offered, i wonder if that's strictly an american thing? though i appreciate the fact that they offer organic fish, this meal was a bad memory on an otherwise wonderful trip to iceland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well above average for fish & chips”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The fish & chips here is nothing short of delicious. As others have said, the batter is light and not greasy at all. The assorted sauces are excellent and serve as a great substitute for the traditional malt vinegar. I recommend the catfish (or wolffish as some call it - steinbítur in Icelandic) as it is a bit more firm than the cod which was tasty but of loose consistency and a little watery. Other menu items looked good to but remain to be sampled. Check out the skyr (a traditional Icelandic dairy product resembling strained yogurt) desserts there, very yummy.

The place is nice but not fancy at all, the service decent and the location excellent, especially if you are biking or hoofing it.

The place is kid-friendly and my girls loved the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gustatorius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Try to get there early as it fills up. A somewhat self-serve kind of place with ordering at the counter and getting your own water. The best fish and chips that I have ever had. No wonder this place was packed when we got there! It's a lovely light batter on the fish so you don't go away feeling heavy and full of oil :) Had the haddock with chili dipping sauce on a bed of lettuce. The oven roasted potatoes were wonderful. Lots of dipping sauces from which to choose. A +

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jord7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The staff was very nice and the food was very good, price was reasonable compare to other expensive restaurant in Reykjavik. There was a poster on the wall showing different fishes...first time I saw the picture of a wolf fish hahaha~

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank machk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing