We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips”

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Ranked #68 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went here early evening and was surprised how busy it got very quickly. Nice selection of local Icelandic ales which I always like, and fish and sauce selection was good. The dessert - skyr, icelandic yogurt - was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardF469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,760
    1,637
    502
    152
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I wish we had gone back to Buddha's...”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went on the Golden Circle Tour today, and the narrator suggested some restaurants for the people on the bus to consider later. We took his advise on Icelandic Fish and chips. I would have rather gone back to Buddha's, where we ate last night!
We sat by the window right by the door. I could see the waiter eating in the kitchen, tehn serving people without washing his hands first. hat would not be allowed in the US. The fish was non-descript, the crispy potatoes certainly were not, and the onion rings were laughable, by American standards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Also disappointed”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sorry but also most disapponted. Sire the place is simple - no frills, but the fish we had was bland, soggy batter and decidedly greasy. The mango salad side dish was fine as was the honey and mustard dip (small) fair beer selection. Prices are fine but certainly would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric Morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Three of us visited this restaurant after reading a lot of very good reviews. One of us thought the food was ok, unfortunately two of us didn't. It has a good selection and it's good to know that the fish is fresh, but there are better fish and chip places in the area. We went at lunchtime and it was almost completely empty. Perhaps the food is better in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful if you can get inside!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food was fantastic, cost less than 7000 ISK for two of us for 2 x Cod, 3 x crispy potatoes, a selection of the Skyr dips and drinks and desert - not cheap but truly fantastic fish and chips!
Only issue was we couldn't get the door open! It was very windy so pull hard on the door to get in!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing