We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy yummy for my tummy”

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Ranked #68 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
Sutton Courtenay, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy for my tummy”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well the Icelanders won the cod wars here...best fish and chips i've had. Cod with mango salad and small roastie type chips-lovely. The onions rings are very nice, but very rich so good to share.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loudnorthernbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,760
    1,637
    502
    152
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a really pleasant surprise with the quality of food in this restaurant. it didn't look like much from the outside, and on entering it seemed quite plain. We were also the only people in there (although it really started filling up once we got our food). We were fortunate to have a table with a view of the harbour. It was such a comfortable place to be, and the person that served us was very friendly and helpful.

We ordered Tusk, Cod and Wolf fish. We also all ordered different sauces. Mine was served on a delicious mango salad. The potato wedges were excellent. This was excellent value for money, and exactly what we felt like. We thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvTheBeachTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“REAL Battered Cod”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just a minute's walk from our hotel, the Marina, it was a TA Award of Excellence that prompted us to have a meal and we weren't disappointed.

It's "semi-waiter service" as they call it. The very British way of ordering and paying at the counter and then having your meals brought to you.
It looks very much like a 'fish and chip bar' in that it's small tables, little decor (though not tired or run-down) and a small selection of drinks.

DON'T LET ANY OF THIS PUT YOU OFF.

Healthy eating is the order of the day - no chips (fries), though you can have 'crispy potatoes'.
My wife and I both had the battered cod, she with sautered potatoes, me with the cripsy ones. The green leafy side salads were good.
The portions were large (two pieces of cod) and the fish was outstanding.

This was the best value-for-money meal we had, despite our visits to Grill Market and Fish Company.

The only reason I haven't rated it as excellent is that I think full waiting service should be expected. You don't really come away on holiday to have to stand in a queue waiting to order, if you come at a busy time, which I suspect is most of the time with Icelandic Fish & Chips, because the food and value is that good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fish is delicious here!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a quaint little restaurant down by the water - get a seat that faces the port - the view is amazing. The food & beer are not like what you would expect at a typical fish & chips place. The fish is lightly battered and is offered on a bed of greens with chunky potatoes. Service is fast and the plac was packed every minute we were there - food wwas filling and just amazing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank schefferville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When we see fish and chips it brings a certain expectation of whet we are getting. In this case it is different.
It is semi self service. You go in and get a table. You then look at what is on the menu, in out case, Cod, Red fish and Tusk ( that is what was on the menu) Then the type of crispy potatoes and what sauce or dip. You then go up to the counter and order. You can pay then or if you want desert and or coffee later.

The waitress then brings your order through when cooked. The chips are more potatoe wedges but everything was wonderful. Water is free from the jugs or you can have beer or soft drinks that you order with the fish.

The restaraunt is not the best for decor but the food makes up for that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat_Floyd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing